Licensed Sales Producer (Female, Age 36) in Sequim, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Licensed Sales Producer in Sequim, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLicensed Sales Producer
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSequim, WA
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Exclusive Insurance office affiliated solely with Allstate Insurance.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Customer service, policy changes and sales. I review current and prospective clients insurance information, analysis of needs and adjust to suit each individual.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Two weeks paid vacation, 10 days sick leave. No health or retirement package.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the public and co-workers daily. Generally I enjoy this aspect of my job, although there are the occasional “difficult” individuals that must be dealt with in a professional manner. That can be a strain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like working in an office away from home because it is easier to keep work and home seperated. I like the to and from aspect.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt home preparing for work.
8am to 9amFinishing home duties and leaving for work.
9am to 10amOpening the office, turning on computer and phone system. Make coffee, sort payments for processing. Enter payments into the computer system. Check voicemail, deal with varied policy requests and make return calls to confirm.
10am to 11amCheck email, address different requests to add vehicles or remove coverage. Quote varied coverage changes and process requests. Prepare information on cost of insurance for new purchases.
11am to 12pmMeeting with client to review coverage. Property had serious changes and needed a full update.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmAnswer service related calls, take information relating to business damage, review coverage and relate information back to client. More service calls.
2pm to 3pmClaim information on auto incident related, submit claim.

review policy information for potential increases.

3pm to 4pmReviewing increases for next month and making calls to alert or make suggestions for cost reduction.
4pm to 5pmBalance end of the day accounts, prepare bank deposit. Go to bank and post office. Post any payments that came in the mail. Continue to answer phones and make changes.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Resume, multiple interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
An interview with a district manager, second and third interviews with the business owner. Very thorough review of skills, communication prowess and dedication focus.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I do not recall

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, study opportunity, on the job training, and always answered questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Online classes, testing and certification. Then several hours of testing in a secure facility.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It helped me learn varied topics at a high rate of speed and accuracy.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
At least obtain a two year degree, and be flexible. Someone who wants to work, needs to put forth the effort.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, high tolerance for difference in opinion (some people are just difficult) and very high patience. They must have the ability to learn and retain vast amounts of information and update that frequently.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely a two year degree minimum.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Study, keep refreshing the information.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. Longterm steady employment that I will retire from, no job hunting and no insecurity.

What are your current career goals?
To continue in my field until retirement age.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No thank you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Billing tech225000Entering Medical Billing information and payments.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Peninsula CollegeDigital Multimedia
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.