Stables Manager (Female, Age 28) in avon, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Stables Manager in avon, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Stables Manager
Salary $34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location avon, NY
Years Experience 7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a privately owned trail riding operation comprised of 60+ horses and a staff of approx. 12

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
saddling, feeding, first aid of horses, organizing rides, overseeing wranglers, office work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i enjpy working with others. I feel like i also have 60+ coworkers in the horses, they all hve different personalities!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I like working outside, and my office is located at 9,000 in the mtns of colorado or on horseback. I love it!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Word of mouth and perseverance

What was the application process?
met with the manager and he hired me

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I told the manager my experience and background and he hired me after a trial run working one day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can’t remember, it was a pretty casual interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i knew what was expected of me and have been able to learn more every year i have worked.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really ,just learning the trails and the different horses. Pretty hands on training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really, this job can be done by anyone, even without a traditional education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be knowledgeable about horses, but also be able to work well with outhers and size up people you’ve just met, i try to match horses and riders so everyone has a good ride.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be able to multitask, as well as communicate and be open to suggestions from coworkers. And be ready to work hard doing unglamorous duties like shovelling manure and cleaning hooves, putting on saddles, etc.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not education, but definitely training in how to work with horses.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be confident in your abilities but never let your guard down or you’ll get hurt.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, if i can make it a year round job.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to own my own horse operation some day, possibly working with hadicapped or troubles youths.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i love it and never imagined growing up i would make a living off horses!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 supervisor 8 yrs 14.75/hr supervising a guest service department at a ski resort
Prior Job 2 cashier 1 yr 9.50/hr retail, cashier at a snowboard shop

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:A- average

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
? UVM n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a