Detention Deputy (Male, Age 56) in Jay, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 56 who works as a Detention Deputy in Jay, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDetention Deputy
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationJay, NY
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
County Sheriff Department

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in the Booking Department. I recieve all new intakes. Finger print and take pictures. Enter all information in computer. release inmates at time of bond paid or end of sentence

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
20hrs leave, 20hrs sick leave Blue cross blue shield

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
UNDER

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a team of 5 could use more help

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
county jail

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ambeen at work now 1 hr, compleated muster and pass down from night shift, now booking all those left over from night shift
8am to 9ammost days have compleated the night shift pass down and started at least 3 new intakes
9am to 10amhave left the booking area and reported to the medical area to take care of the medical inmates
10am to 11amsearved lunch to medical inmates and compleated the medicl screening of those that needed it
11am to 12pmreported back to the booking area and took in at least 4 new intakes
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pmcompleated new intake s and prepare for night shift to report in
6pm to 7pmwent home its a 12.25 hr day
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
family

What was the application process?
paper app

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
5 man board

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
acadamy

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to school

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
very good social skills, the tech stuff comes in school

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
watch and see how other people do it then choose your own style

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no

What are your current career goals?
retire

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1sfc21years
Prior Job 2maintainance5years800month

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.