Office Manager (Female, Age 40) in Saraland, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Office Manager in Saraland, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSaraland, AL
Years Experience7 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Brokerage Firm. Over 20,000.00 employees around the world

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Manage the office. Order Supplies. Complaince Issues. Paperwork. Accounts Receivable/Payable.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like it. 50% of my day is talking with our clients and asssting them with any forms or documents they may need to facilitate their transactions. I know my job therefore it is easy and the people are friendly, so they are great to work with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. It can be too quiet at times.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to Work
8am to 9amPrepared Meeting notes for 10am meeting. Called clients to set up meetings for the rest of the week.
9am to 10amFiled last weeks mail, notes, files.
10am to 11amMet with client for meeting.
11am to 12pmMeeting completed. Made buys and sales for accounts.
12pm to 1pmLeft early for dentist appt.
1pm to 2pmGone for the day
2pm to 3pmGone for the day
3pm to 4pmGone for the day
4pm to 5pmDrove home
5pm to 6pmArrived home, cooked dinner. Did 5 loads of laundry
6pm to 7pmStill doing laundry
7pm to 8pmStill doing laundry
8pm to 9pmStill doing laundry
9pm to 10pmStill doing laundry
10pm to 11pmWent to bed
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from my previous boss who retired.

What was the application process?
Submitted a Resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One interview with the owner to go over my Resume in detail.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why are you leaving your current employer, how long did you work for them, does this sound like the type of company you would like to work for?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he told me what was expected and I understood the basics.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. There was nothing in school that prepared me for this.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Work for a small brokerage firm first on the ground level, to learn how it operates.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be detail oriented, a fast learner, possess strong organizational skills, understand Word and Excel, have a background in Finanace, Accounts Receivable and Accounts Payable Skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If you are in college definitely do an internship at a brokerage firm.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. No benefits (Insurance or retirement)

What are your current career goals?
To find a job I can retire from that offers retirement, insurance, vacation pay and sick days.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
You have to be consistently detail oriented.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Manager7 Years25000Running an office. Accounts Receivable/Payable, Compliance, paperwork, telephones, insurance.
Prior Job 2Executive Secretary2 Years25000Spreadsheets, filing, typing, EEOC Compliance, interviewing and hiring.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3USAPsycology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.