Cna (Female, Age 34) in Hemlock, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Cna in Hemlock, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCna
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHemlock, NY
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a facility that has about 60 clients.clients live in the facility

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
my duties include daily care of these clients .helping with feeding dressing attending facility activities,monitoring daily intakes and outputs

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
i have 3 personal days ,i have a 401 k and i have 80/20 healthcare where i pay 80% and the company pays 20%

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i feel that I am paid fairly .not over paid at all ,maybe a little under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with others daily ,i like that .i am able to share my resposabilities with others and also have the opportunity to make new friends among my co workers where i can share my life and they can share theres

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a clinic type facility where there are people around all the time .i like that it is well managed and the responsabilities are shared

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
applied to numerous facilities that had employees with my creditenials .there was no job postings ,just took them my resume and filled application

What was the application process?
gave them resume ,filled out application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
a group of 5 ,but not really an interview .it was a training class ,told of duties ,went thru doing duties

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
one question was ,Do you feel you can complete the duties that this job requires

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes.he had a hands on training class for 3 days then a week working along side another cna before doing it on my own

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes ,i had to take a 12 week course,and then pass a state test

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes ,i took classes in nursing

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they need to first become educated in the field by taking classes and getting certified by the state

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
love of people ,compassion for people ,paitence and understanding the aging process.You have to enjoy taking care of people or you will have no copmpassion for them and will hurriedly rush thru your job without taking care of all their needs which may at times be to stop and comfort them and listen to them

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes i do .you must know some skills to successfully do your job like input and output of clients body ,

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure u love this type of work .enjoy working with people and be understanding and most of all have compassion

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes.I am making a fair amount of money as a second income in my home and also raising a child

What are your current career goals?
am happy with current career but eventually will finish school and obtain my nursing degree

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no ,thanks enjoyed this

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CNa725000
Prior Job 2cna1 year19000I help with the caring of elerly and disabled persons who need assistance in their daily living

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
BakerHealthcare
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.