Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 29) from morrow, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Administrative Assistant in morrow, GA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 32
Company Size (not answered)
Location morrow, GA
Years Experience 7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a very large airline. Over 47,000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Handle all payroll for our employee group- sums of $600,000 and above per month. Handle all incoming and outgoing correspondence. Manage database. Build reports and spread sheets. Maintain qual records for the FAA.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance / paid time off / free flights

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a constant basis. I work with pilots and this can be challenging because they can have very demanding personalities. I enjoy people…. just not when they are jerks. When they are nice, I enjoy it. I am the only ‘co-worker’ in my department. Everyone else is a manager. Lots of cheifs and not enough indians.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office cube farm. I like the privacy of having a few walls around me- but I can’t stand constantly overhearing people from other departments who use speaker phone or eat in a rude manner…. you should never have the person in the sbue next to you sucking their teeth and burping on a regular, daily basis.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 3

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with 2 or the three bosses.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Nothing stands out.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
If my job had stayed the job that I was hired to do, yes. I was not prepared for my job constantly expanding and changing and still being titled and paid the same.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I’ve taught myself anything that has some up that I’ve needed to know. This company offers nothing in that manner.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Sure. But I think my social background plays a stronger roll in how I deal with our clientel.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have no goals for their life and like being treated like they are wroth nothing. Ok, seriously. Attention to detail. Even your bosses’ details b/c you will constantly be fixing their mistakes and watching them take credit for your work.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Enjoy talking to people and the ability to listen even when it’s not something you are interested in. Major organization skills. A good memory. Excellent in MS Office Suite. Programming skills are also important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make goals for yourself and move on if there isn’t an upward position in your future with the company. Be confident and assertive when it comes to asking to pay raises. Be patient and know that you will constantly be under appreciated and under paid.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Flight Attendant 2 years 24000
Prior Job 2 Exec Assistant 3 years 20000

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.