Lifestyles Editor (Female, Age 34) in White Pine, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Lifestyles Editor in White Pine, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLifestyles Editor
Salary$21,580
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWhite Pine, TN
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A daily hometown newspaper. Our location has about 40 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I write stories, take photographs, and edit copy. Much of my day is spent talking with people–either face to face or on the phone. I also get a lot of email correspondence.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
two weeks paid vacation each year, life insurance equal to one year’s salary, eligible to purchase health and dental insurance, receive a monetary Christmas bonus each year.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel undercompensated for my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at office. Check phone messages, emails, and fax machine. Type obituaries and then fax proofs back to the funeral homes. Get proofs back via fax and make any changes and or corrections. Answer any incoming phone calls and forward to the correct phone until the office opens.
8am to 9amForward all obituaries to the pagination department for placement in the paper. Download digital photos from the camera and put in proper labeled folders on the computer network. Type cutlines (the information) for all photos taken the day before.
9am to 10amDrive to next assignment, which is about students in a special summer camp learning about life after high school. Interview the camp counselors and some participants. Take several photographs and get a printed schedule of the camp activities.
10am to 11amDrive a few miles to my next stop. Get photos and information about a construction project. Take photos at several different angles.
11am to 12pmVisit city hall to check on events happening in town. Ask to see if there are any happenings that I need to address with a story. Find out the dates for upcoming council and planning meetings. Drive through town to see if there are any photo opportunities.
12pm to 1pmReturn to the office and check phone messages and emails. Return calls and emails, schedule appointments. Download all the digital photos that I have taken. Sort the photos into folders and place them on the network.
1pm to 2pmSelect the photos that I will be using and write the cutlines. Also write stories to go along with the photos that I have taken. Reread stories and cutlines, editing them.
2pm to 3pmScan all photos submitted thus far this week. Edit and prep the photos. Then write cutlines and type stories to go with the photos.
3pm to 4pmContinue writing stories and cutlines. Then reread and edit the items after I have completed them.
4pm to 5pmSort through my materials and set tomorrow’s schedule. Type a detailed schedule and place on network.
5pm to 6pmOn the way home, I come across a car accident. I stop and take photographs and get the names of the officers working the accident. I give a business card to the fire chief who will send a report. He gives me as much information as possible. I talk to witnesses at the scene. I go home and write up a story with the information that I have, I can add additional information tomorrow.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pmI receive a call about a house fire. I go to the scene and take photographs and get information. I then return home and prepare a short story about the incident and its damages.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.