Sales Representative (Female, Age 31) in pearl, MS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Sales Representative in pearl, MS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Representative
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationpearl, MS
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a medical uniform retail store. This is a small privately run business that caters to the entire state. We have a store and then we travel around the state to different hospitals and nursing homes having shows to sell the uniforms to the nurses and doctors.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help the customers to find the uniforms that they are allowed to wear at their jobs. I help them to find the uniforms that will fit them best and be the most comfortable. I help to keep the store of the shows clean, organized and professional. I do inventory on the products that we carry.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. I enjoy working with others to help them be able to do their job in the most comfortable and fashionable way that they can

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the store as well as at hospitals. I enjoy working in both locations. I especially like to travel around to other parts of the state, working with these types of people in these types of working envionments.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI am at a hospital setting up scrubs to sell at a scrub show. I will be setting up racks of scrubs according to size and or brand. I will also be setting up the different kinds of shoes we carry. I will set up the cash register. I will also set up the stethoscopes and badge holders.
8am to 9amThe show will be beginning. I will help customers find what they are looking for. I will direct them to the dressing room. I will make sure they are fitted into the most comfortable uniform to their preference.
9am to 10amI will continue to help people to find exactly what they are looking for. If we do not have their size in the style they are looking for, I can take their order for what they want and order it for them. We do payroll deduction for certain hospitals; which makes people more apt to buy, when they don’t actually have to spend the money then.
10am to 11amPeople are coming in at different times throughout the day, depending on when their shift is over, or when they have breaks. I will help them to find what they are allowed to wear. I will show them all the different uniforms we have for the colors they are allowed to wear.
11am to 12pmI will be hanging up all the scrubs that have been taken off hangers and placing them back where they go. I will keep the room we are in looking the way it was when we came in. I will continue to help the customers find what they are looking for. I will be checking some of them out.
12pm to 1pmLunch break is normally our busiest part of the day. Most people will come by on their lunch break. I am still helping them to shop and find their uniforms. I will also be taking orders from them for what we may not have in stock.
1pm to 2pmAt some point during the day, I will be talking with the supervisor to set up our next show. The supervisor will look at our books to see what we should bring the next time. Different hospitals have things they can or cannot wear. I want to make sure we bring the best selection possible.
2pm to 3pmI continue to help people find what they need. I also continue to keep the surroundings tidy. I remove all of the empty hangers and boxes. Then I make sure everything is where it is supposed to be.
3pm to 4pmI have my favorites that I show people which helps to sell them. I always wear one of my favorite uniforms; this really helps to sell them. I continue to help people and to clean up behind them.
4pm to 5pmThe show is normally over at 4 p.m. Now I will begin to start getting everything straightened up to start loading back up. I will print out our sales, so that I will have something to look at before we come back to base our next show there on.
5pm to 6pmWe are normally still loading up. I also make sure that the conference room we used is as clean as it was when we came in this morning.
6pm to 7pmWe are now headed back to our store. We will stop on our way home to eat dinner and discuss our day.
7pm to 8pmWe are still driving back. Some of the workers and or myself may be napping if possible.
8pm to 9pmWe normally get back between 8 p.m. and 9 p.m., depending on the location of the show.
9pm to 10pmWhen we get back, we will begin to unload the trailers.
10pm to 11pmWe should have everything back in its place by 11p.m.
11pm to 12amI am finished and going to sleep.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a friend

What was the application process?
i submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had an individual interview with the owner of the business.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can’t really remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I was prepared to do the best job that I could and if I ever needed any more help, it was available to me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to become familiar with all the different brands of uniforms that were carried here and the ones they didn’t carry. I had to learn how to work the cash register.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat. I don’t really believe that my educaion really prepared me to be able to deal with some peoples attitudes; but it did prepare me to be computer literate to be able to work their cash register.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would advise them to check out the locations as well as the people they would be working with to make sure that they would be able to work in such atmospheres

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think that they would have to be able to put up with a lot of different personalities. They would need to be very informed about the different types of products that these places carry. They would also need to have good organization skills in order to keep the store in a professional manner.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
One would need to be trained to understand how each brand of uniforms fits and if it is suitable for their job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
that some people just can’t be pleased and don’t get discouraged if you can’t help them the way they think they should be helped.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because if I can help them to continue to grow their business then they could expand; and I could possibly open my own store through them.

What are your current career goals?
Is to find out exactly what it is that I want to do with myself and my life and career; so that I can go for my dreams.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1server2 years2.13 + tipsI waited tables.
Prior Job 2server1 year2.13 + tipsI waited tables

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.64

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4hinds ccNA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.