Personal Assistant/Office Manager (Female, Age 30) in brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Personal Assistant/Office Manager in brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePersonal Assistant/Office Manager
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbrooklyn, NY
Years Experience7 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small scale real estate development office. i am the personal assistant of the founder and also i’m the office manager. we are 3 people working from a home/office in soho.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answering phones, managing calendar and contacts, ordering office supplies, sorting mail, paying bills, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
minimum interaction with outside people, but very close interaction with the office people. I am happy about this situation.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
homeoffice, it is perfect!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami am sleeping
8am to 9ami am sleeping
9am to 10ami just woke up and getting ready to go to work. I take the train at 10am.
10am to 11ami get off at spring street station, walk to the building open the mailbox and get the mail.
11am to 12pmi have opened the mail and classified them. I have read my emails by 12 pm and answered a few of them. I checked the bank accounts.I forwarded the mail related to my boss for him to review
12pm to 1pmlunch time, i ordered the lunch in.
1pm to 2pmmy boss arrived, we go through the items to discuss,he tells me what he wants me to do in the rest of the day and tomorrow.
2pm to 3pmi go out to run errands, collect/deliver dry cleaning, shopped for the office.
3pm to 4pmi check the bills and schedule to pay them online. If i have done that earlier i double check if all is scheduled correctly.
4pm to 5pmi leave at 4pm.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume by email, got called, interview and start

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 1 individual interview with the founder of the company

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
my experience, weaknesses, strenghts, what i could bring to the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, i found out about everything after i started by myself

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
BA in sociology

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i have good people skills and i am a good researcher

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
check out craiglist for the positions and be honest with your skills and experience in the interview.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
experience in secreterial duties, organizational skills, patience with working with someone so closely, computer litterate

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, uni degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do not think thatthis is an easy job to do, if you lie about your qualifications it will be a loss of time and energy for both the employer and u.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes and no. you can make a lot of money in real estate if you work in commission. my position is fixed wage per hour.

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office manager/pa9 ,os30k
Prior Job 2office manager/exec asst.4 yrs50k

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
indiana uni of pennsociology, ba
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.