Principal Consultant (Male, Age 34) in Charlotte, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Principal Consultant in Charlotte, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Principal Consultant
Salary $95,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Charlotte, NC
Years Experience 7 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is one of the top-tier multinational IT company in the world, having more than 130000 employees with more than $6bn in annual revenue.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Functional Consultant ERP responsible for as-is & to be analysis, requirements gathering, functional design, testing, cut-over and post go-live support.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, health insurance gold plan, dental and vision insurance, 401 K retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, we work as a team and this job requires to work together in a team and I enjoy working with others. The kind of work I do needs involvement of business team, development team, functional team and testing team, thus we all have to work closely to meet our objective.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We mostly work in office and at times from home too, the only thing I dislike is you have to sit on computer at desk for long stretch of time for several hours which results in body pains for being in one posture for long, many a times you do not get break in between.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am I start my day at 9 by checking my mails and answering any urgent ones, marking rest of them to be replied later in the day. I have a meeting at 10 and I prepare myself for before I get inside the meeting room so I will jot down important points I will like to raise/discuss during the meeting
10am to 11am I was in a meeting where we discussed about upcoming projects, their timelines and priority. I was leading this meeting where I was taking notes on weekly status of the work from my team members and gave them details on upcoming new projects.
11am to 12pm Soon after the meeting I updated my project management related documents with the outcome of our discussion in the meeting, defined new timelines, track current status and for the ones which are in red status (behind the schedule) raised the concern and sought explanation and how they will get back on track.
12pm to 1pm Lunch Break
1pm to 2pm I answered some of the other mails which I had marked to be answered later in the day. Then I went ahead to meet the person in business team to gather more details of their business needs on which they need support from IT team, gathered information related to current business methodology and their flexibility to follow industry best practices.
2pm to 3pm While I was in meeting with business team, I had received an email about an urgent production issue which needed immediate attention, thus I had to immediately get back to provide resolution work around so that business doesn’t get impacted
3pm to 4pm I was still busy in resolving the production issue, this was a severity 1 issue as the business was not able to make payments to vendors on time resulting in financial impact.
4pm to 5pm Solution offered for production issue and then I resumed my meeting with business to write down the exact requirements and wrote as -is business process currently followed
5pm to 6pm Researched on internet about the industry best practices in the area of business need and then tried to write down the various alternatives that can be followed to meet the needs.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
One of my friends referred me

What was the application process?
Submitted resume by email

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I was intervied three times, one telephonic and then in person and then another interview conducted by HR

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly questions were technical in nature and skill based on my previous experience as well as to gather insight on deep and thorough undertsnading of Oracle financial modules.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my first employer they gave me enough training and assigned to a mock project which helped me building the skills effectively and quickly

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was initially trained on Oracle financial modules like GL, AP, AR, FA

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes my engineering and MBA degree build analytical skills and finance & accounting area related knowledge which definitely helps me in doing my current job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I did my internship in the same area which helped me learning the job skills without being directly responsible for it.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
For doing a job similar to mine you need to develop competency in the area of business you are looking to provide consultancy which can be achieved partially by education like MBA and partially by working in that domain for some period of time.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The person should have good social and networking skills as he has to deal with many people in a day and get as much information as he/she can to get the work done effectively, also the person should have excellent knowledge of an ERP like Oracle EBS or SAP

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes a degree in engineering and MBA certainly helps

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
He should identify his best interest in the area of ERP like Finance, Supply Chain, CRM, HRMS etc and then develop skills in that area to become expert to provide consultancy to firms implementing ERP.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I would like to be know as a leading business consultant and this job helps me in achieving that goal.

What are your current career goals?
My current goal is to lead a Consulting practice at my organization.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I feel great about my career growth so far

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Consultant 7 80000 I had mostly the same responsibility as in current job of functional consultant but was I wasn’t leading any team and was working in one area of finance whereas now I lead team of such individuals of all areas of finance.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:9.1

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
8.8 BE
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
9.2 MBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.