Crime Scene Technician (Female, Age 45) in san diego, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Crime Scene Technician in san diego, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCrime Scene Technician
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationsan diego, CA
Years Experience7 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work as a civilian employee in connection with the police department.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I respond to crime scenes and gather evidence. I attend the autopsies. I process victims and suspects.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, 15 paid Mondays off

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I love it. I work by myself on particular evidence, but I have 8 others in the lab.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWeekly briefing and updates
8am to 9amGather new work request from a detective
9am to 10amGo to property room to receive boxed and bagged evidence
10am to 11amBegin processing request
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmSuperglue and/or DNA swab evidence
1pm to 2pmBegin writing report for evidence processing
2pm to 3pmContinue processing evidence
3pm to 4pmWrite out hours and duties performed this day.
4pm to 5pmMay be called out to a crime scene 24/7 when I am first responder.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Toured the lab, initial interview, initial background interview, intensive interview with background interviewer, polygraph,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 5 interviews, 1 with supervisor, 3 with background investigator, one with polygraph administer.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They must remain confidential

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
100%. I had someone available at all times to walk me through the process and answer any questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, 3 months of hands on training. I then submitted a 4 inch binder filled with the work I had done to get approval. Then I processed evidence in the lab for 1 month prior to approval to work out in the field.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, only because it was practical. There are many candidates with bachelor’s and master’s who had to go to the college I did to get the specific AS degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it’s the only way I could have gotten the job

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They absolutely must earn a degree from a college which has practical training as part of it’s instruction.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, willingness to work 24/7, good natured, able to work with graphic situations

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
They must do a free internship prior to being hired.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan on staying in crime scene work of one kind or another until I no longer work

What are your current career goals?
Continue education: computer forensics, biology and chemistry.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is one of the most physically demanding yet ultimately rewarding career choice available.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Owner6 years60000As owner, all aspects of runni9ng a business, hiring, clerical, supply ordering, overseeing employees
Prior Job 2owner5 years60000Again, as owner, all aspects of running a hotel.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.96GrossmontAS Forensic Technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.