Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper 

(Female, Age 35) from ocean, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper in ocean, NJ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location ocean, NJ
Years Experience 7 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Auto Parts Store (Napa) – I do Accounts Recieveable/Accounts Payable for 4 stores.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Receive and apply all payments from charge customers, send out statements, collections, match statements for Accounts Payable

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well except for the benefits

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes and no. I work mostly by myself but I do have other employees in the store. I like it because there is someone to talk to occasionally but I can also be left alone when I want to be.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office.. I love my office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am Entered and Applied checks
10am to 11am Called Customers re: past due bills
11am to 12pm Sorted and opened mail
12pm to 1pm Filed
1pm to 2pm Matched Statements
2pm to 3pm Applied Checks
3pm to 4pm Called more customers re: past due
4pm to 5pm Filed
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume, application at interview, 2nd interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews…first with co-worker (no longer employed) and 2nd with boss (hired on spot)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what salary are you looking for? when can you start?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
look around

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
highly organized, be able to multi task, good in math, good phone skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be organized

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Don’t have an employment plan

What are your current career goals?
don’t really have any at this time

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Property Administrator 4 years 23500 in charge of 1800 pieces of government property
Prior Job 2 receptionist 1 year 8hr answer phones

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Brookdale Associates Degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.