Special Education Teacher (Female, Age 30) in Montville, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Special Education Teacher in Montville, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSpecial Education Teacher
Salary$56,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMontville, NJ
Years Experience7.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a New Jersey Public School

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
produce and execute lesson plans, maintain a website, contact parents, write input for IEP meetings, attend IEP meeting, collaborate with general education teachers, attend ad hoc meetings, 100 hr requirement of professional development, attend monthly department meetings

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 sick days which roll over year to year, 5 personal days (3 with reason, 2 without reason..these also become sick days if unused), sick leave, scheduled vacation days throughout the calendar, health insurance (medical, prescription, dental and vision), 403b plan, disability insurance, pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
salary wise I feel under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis. I will not lie, I enjoy it some days and dislike it others. I enjoy working with people, but I dislike how the parents try to place the blame on me as their child’s teacher.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
school setting..I wouldn’t be working here if I didn’t like the setting.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.