Supervisor/Customer Service Rep (Female, Age 33) in Clarksville, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Supervisor/Customer Service Rep in Clarksville, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSupervisor/Customer Service Rep
Salary$25,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationClarksville, IN
Years Experience7.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small company. We have 12 operators. We are an answering service. We answer for various types of businesses such as doctors, lawyers, construction, etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer phones and direct the call according to each companies protocol. I also take care of any problems that arise on my shifts with other employees or clients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others very well. I enjoy my job and coworkers. I do not like some of the callers we deal with. Some are extremely rude and nasty.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office setting.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a past employeer

What was the application process?
I spoke with the Manager. She had me come in an fill out an application. I had the interview the next day and she hired me on the spot.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had an individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
She asked about my past job experiences, qualifications, job skills, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had wonderful trainers that explained everything in a clear manner. I trained for 2 weeks and was put by myself on 3rd shift. They were expecting to have to train me a month before I was by myself.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I trained on the computer system they used at the time. I learned how to answer calls, call out, patch calls, etc. I also learned how to deliver calls according to each clients protocol.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I took courses at a tech school when I was in highschool. I took Data Entry/Administrative Asst.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not necessarily just for the job, but it has helped me through out all of my jobs, one way or another

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend practicing their typing and listening skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would have to have patience with others, listening skills, be able to type as they listen or talk.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I tell them to listen carefully while training. And never be afraid to ask questions no matter how much they think it is silly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, but at this moment I don’t have a career plan. I am just extremely grateful I have a job.

What are your current career goals?
I haven’t thought about it.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
none

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Supervisor/Customer Service Rep7 years11.25/hourI answer phones and direct the call according to each companies protocol. I also take care of any problems that arise on my shifts with other employees or clients. Clean the office when needed.
Prior Job 2Roto Rooter Plumbing29.50/hourI answer phones and set up appointments for plumbing problems. I also dispatched the jobs to technicians. I cleaned the office. Various job assignments from my Manager. Called customers for collections.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.