Office Manager (Female, Age 42) in ennis, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Office Manager in ennis, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationennis, TX
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
single owner plumbing co. with 5 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
invoices, recordkeeping, and payroll, filing and any advertising etc

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
work any hours

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
it is fine

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
most of it is solo work but there is some interaction with the workers and some with the customers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
at home ,home office -love working in sweats and taking breaks whenever you want- I can even work at 2 am if I choose

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

#NAME?

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
it is for my husbands co

What was the application process?
none

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
not appl.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
we worked together at the start to create a system

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
nothing more than learning the basics of the invoices themselves and the rest was learn as you go

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was in business courses in high school and held several sales positions prior to ths job all of which helped

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
not sure my job exists at other companies- it is self created

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
basic bookkeeping and filing, good phone skills and orginization

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be flexible and dont expect to get rich

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no I still plan to go to school as soon as possible and this is just to help with family busin.

What are your current career goals?
none in this field I will be going to college when my children are older

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1salesperson-shift manag15yrs20000waitress cashier and shift manager/trainer
Prior Job 2teacher515000instructor- and handled bookkeeping as well

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.