Registered Nurse 

(Female, Age 53) from East Marion, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 53 who works as a Registered Nurse in East Marion, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Registered Nurse
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 37.5
Company Size (not answered)
Location East Marion, NY
Years Experience 6.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Eastern Long Island Hospital, a 90 bed community hospital at the eastern end of Long Island, NY.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patient care, assessment, medication administration, documentation.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, vacation days, sick days, union, pension fund

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with others. Sometimes I like sometimes I don’t, but I love my career choice.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
medical/surgical unit

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was working there and moved up.

What was the application process?
resume, paper application, interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes,it was an individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
sorry I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Nursing school, and orientation.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, gives the basics

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
If you are planning to work as an RN, start as a CNA and work up from there.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
multi tasking, communication, empathy, knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes it is a requirement

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
hopefully you will have an excellent preceptor and management personnel to help you through your orientation period

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, it was/is my dream since the age of 5

What are your current career goals?
I am right where I want to be for now.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
If you want a specific career, never give up on the dream. It may not come at in the anticipated time, but it will come at the right time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 CNA 2 months 15 + patient care
Prior Job 2 Teller/ Customer Service 20.5 yrs 15+ customer service, transaction processing,

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Suffolk County Community College AAS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.