Hot Glass Artist (Female, Age 42) in Duluth, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Hot Glass Artist in Duluth, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHot Glass Artist
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDuluth, GA
Years Experience6 yrs

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am selfemployed and havea small studio where I produce various works of glass art from flat glass (kiln formed) to free hand pieces over the torch. A lot of my final pieces are made into jewelry by myself and others.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for all aspects of my company’s running. I order the supplies and equipment, maintain the cleanliness of my studio as well as the equipment. I also take care that the studio is within NIOSH guidelines.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
all benefits like these are through my spouses job

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am mostly working by myself exceptwhen I am at a show (art show or crafts show) and I take an employee with me. I would prefer to have employees but the company just doesn’t support any other employees but me rght now.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I simply don’thave any coworkers.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amsleeping
8am to 9amInto studio, turn on lights, start kiln ramping up, make sure all glass is clean and set out tools and glss for that day. Open gas lines to torch.
9am to 10amTurn on music, start to melt glass. Doing some planed projects as well as doing some experimentation in things that might sell well in upcoming show.s
10am to 11amStill at the bench being creative.
11am to 12pmStill at the bench beaing creative.
12pm to 1pmClean up, make sure all works dne are in kiln. Clean up work area. Sweet, etc. Glass is very messy.
1pm to 2pmEat lunch.
2pm to 3pmGoout to various vendors and other stores around the city trying to get work on commission work or have them buy my work outright.
3pm to 4pmsame as above
4pm to 5pmHead back home, crack kiln and relax.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I grew into it out of other art projects I was workign on.

What was the application process?
No, you decide you are going to do it and you start to network with others, attend classes, cold sell galleries

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, nointerview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I trained under several other beadmakers or a period of manyyears. From them I learned safety techniques both for beading and building a studio.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, not really. A career in art isn’t like a regular job… but there are many books for self employes now.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take classes in the glass industry and try to get apprenticed to a beader.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational skills are very important because there are so many colors/types of glass that we need to know about. Artistic talent is a definitely plus and to be able to be creative and make mistakes as well.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High school educatiaon, emphasis on chemistry

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be safe, know your environment and have all the safety gear you need to performyour job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Self employed

What are your current career goals?
I want to move up into making paperweights and larger pieces ofstructural glas.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1writer3 years20kI wrote 2 columns for a local paper for 3 years.
Prior Job 2Legal Secretary5 years28kPreparing lawsuits and pleadings for attorneys and their clients.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.