(Male, Age 40) from Riverwoods, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 40 who works as a AVP in Riverwoods, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title AVP
Salary $140,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Riverwoods, IL
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We have several thousand employees. We finance commercial real estate transactions and participate in the capital markets.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I underwrite and assess risk of financing commercial real estate transactions. I also engage in trying to find new business and interact with vendors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks vacation, health insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others. I enjoy the people I work with. A good group of individuals who are respectful and work hard. I have no real complaints.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Yes, much of what we do is collaborative

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Drive to train. Board train. Read newspaper.
8am to 9am arrive at work. check e-mail. return several phone calls (relating to deals I am working on)
9am to 10am Discuss details of deals with my boss. prepare some statements. Copy of a number of items. respond to a few e-mails.
10am to 11am Review some appraisals. Take notes on the reports. cite deficiencies. answer some more e-mails.
11am to 12pm Write some narrative analysis on deals. discuss deficiencies with boss. answer e-mails.
12pm to 1pm Eat lunch at my desk while reading Wall Street Journal
1pm to 2pm conference call on a deal. return e-mails, washroom break.
2pm to 3pm conferece call. review more reports. compose several e-mails relating to deals.
3pm to 4pm Write narrative analysis on deals. Compose e-mails summarizing this deal. Call co-worker to discuss.
4pm to 5pm Prepare detailed analysis concerning numbers and values of deal. Answer some phone calls. Clean up my desk.
5pm to 6pm Wrap. Walk to train. Read magazine (Forbes) on the way home.
6pm to 7pm Get car and train station and drive home. Eat dinner. Put kids to bed.
7pm to 8pm Make some personal phone calls, read. Watch TV and start to get ready for bed.
8pm to 9pm Watch some more TV. Pay some bills. Read another magazine (newsweek).
9pm to 10pm Go to bed.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume via fax

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed 6 people individually and then I came back for a second interview with my eventual boss.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly about my prior work experience and how it would translate to the new company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I thought the items above provided good prepartion

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I met with our loan committee and I had to familiarize my self with various forms and templates. People in my group would provide assistance

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I studied real estate in college. This didn’t hurt.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes. I interned with a real estate firm during one summer in college. It helped teach me the ropes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
take some real estate classes, read publications in the industry and most importantly begin to network!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good analytical skills and patience are important. Much of what I do involves analysis, so this is critical

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
It helps, but I would not say it is mandatory

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read, read, read. Network, network. Be a good listener.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Sure. I hope to stay for a long time. I don’t consider it a temporary fit.

What are your current career goals?
To progress into an upper level management position. To ultimately be very wealthy.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy what I do and I look forward to starting each day.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 avp 6 years 150000 real estate analyst/underwriter. Participates in risk assessment and valuing properties, site inspections.
Prior Job 2 manager 4 years 105000 real estate analysis, 3rd party evaluation, site inspections

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 Univ. of Illinois BS Finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9 Loyola MBA Finance

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.