IT Manager (Female, Age 37) in Danville, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a IT Manager in Danville, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIT Manager
Salary$100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDanville, KY
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Web Design Firm – there are currently 5 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am owner/manager of the web design firm. I do any and all associations with customers, and gather new accounts, and deal as the “middle man” between the client and our employees, telling the employees what the client wants, when, and why.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis. I work with both employee/co-workers, and client/customers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My Work location is a Home office. The only thing I dislike about this, is i have to have client/customer meetings at other places in the community, and they may not have computer access.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amReturn e-mails, type and print letters and gather information to send to clients
8am to 9amMorning status meeting with co-workers – daily work due schedules given, and updates on any upcoming major project due dates/changes. My role was input on the project I am currently working on, and give input/assistance for others on their projects (brainstorm).
9am to 10amMeeting continued till 9:45am

9:45-10:00 – Morning Break

10am to 11amBetween 10 and 12:30, is further time to pursue project work (due to nature of project(s) I cannot disclose any further)
11am to 12pmProject work
12pm to 1pm12-12:30 Project work

12:30 – 1:30 Lunch

1pm to 2pm1- 1:30 Lunch

1:30 – 2:00 Return calls that were not reached earlier

2pm to 3pmcontinuing project work and meetings with clients (via conference calls, web cams, or what means are necessary)
3pm to 4pmProject work and meetings with clients (via conference calls, web cams, or what means are necessary)
4pm to 5pm4-5 finish up daily work, return urgent emails and notices, Make notes for daily meeting for info and input in AM meeting.
5pm to 6pm5pm time to head home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I went to college with the idea of starting my own web design business, and when I graduated college, that is what I set my goals for.

What was the application process?
I created my company, then I have to constantly “network” myself out there to gather clients.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Not applicable

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not applicable

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, college training. Which entailed going to college to obtain the degree(s).

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, along with my personal interests. these both led to me deciding to go for the gusto, as many say.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They would get a J-O-B Like mine if they started their own company, as I did.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Personal skills, professional skills, organizational skills, technical skills, social skills, and much much more.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, there is a certain technical level of computer skills that are required to be successful in this job, and due to the technical aspect, these skills are constantly changing

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take it slow, you will not make a million in the first few years. And always be able and prepared to “network” when the opportunity arises, with different people and places.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is part of my career plan

What are your current career goals?
To make my business the best it can be.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not at this time

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1VISTA2 yrs400.00/moWorking with children and parents in a variety of computer related aspects. Creating and monitoring website, doing various secretarial work, assistant coordinator for program at local middle school.
Prior Job 2Owner5 yrs +variesdesign, build and integrate web pages for clients.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3,69

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3,9NCBTBAA – Accounting, BAA – Management, BAA – Computers
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.