Equipment Engineering Technician (Male, Age 30) in Allen, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Equipment Engineering Technician in Allen, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEquipment Engineering Technician
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAllen, TX
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large semiconductor manufacturer

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
preventative and corrective maintanence of semiconductor manufacturing equipment.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with others. i like it. it provides some randomness to the day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office/manufacturing floor. I dislike having to wear extra (lint free) clothing on the manufacturing floor.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcame into work and had a passdown meeting. then went to repair a couple of machines that were broken.
8am to 9amchanged some consumables (targets and process kits) on a couple of machines that took a couple of hours. Also had a couple of minor errors on a couple of machines that were easy to recover.
9am to 10amchanged some consumables (targets and process kits) on a couple of machines that took a couple of hours. Also had a couple of minor errors on a couple of machines that were easy to recover.
10am to 11amrepaired a couple of machines.
11am to 12pmtook a break before lunch and surfed the internet
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmdid not do much. played some freecell.
2pm to 3pmrepaired a couple of machines.
3pm to 4pmchanged a process kit in an etch chamber.
4pm to 5pmbreak
5pm to 6pmchanged a target and kit in a process chamber on a machine. had a minor error to recover also.
6pm to 7pmbreak
7pm to 8pmhad a passdown meeting with the incoming shift.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
recruiter

What was the application process?
test/application/interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Had several interviews with different people after passing the test to get an interview. Most were group interviews but a couple were individual. The offer that I accepted had been a group interview with all managers from the area that i hired into.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember specifics, but mostly technical. Did have some psycological questins also

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. Learning OJT works well for me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
It was mostly OJT. I did go to training at the manufacturer of the equipment that i work on, but it was not until about a year after I had been working at my position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I use some of the electronics knowledge everyday that i learned in school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to school for electronics or get training in the military. Also do well in school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
mostly technician skills but also need interpersonal skills also. have to deal with people above and below your position on a daily basis.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Do well and pay attention in school.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I am being laid off due to a plant closure at the end of this year. May be able to stay on in another position though, but am not counting on it.

What are your current career goals?
Will probably go back to school to get a 4 year degree eventually to be able to get a better job with more security.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Technician1 year$12 an hourrepaired machinary in a cleanroom that was used for data storage research.
Prior Job 2csr and pharmacy tech5 years$9 an hour when i leftstarted out packaging perscriptions to be sent in the mail. then moved up to filling perscriptions. then moved to the managed care division answering questions on the phone to both members and pharmacists.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9ITTAssociates in Electronics Technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.