(Female, Age 32) from Raleigh, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Artist in Raleigh, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Artist
Salary $80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Raleigh, NC
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
glassworking company- owner and artist

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
all aspects of creation and management

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I mostly work by myself, but do work with others at times. I like the independence, but also the company of others when I want.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am still sleeping….
8am to 9am still sleeping….
9am to 10am still sleeping….
10am to 11am preparing orders to be mailed
11am to 12pm ship out packages
12pm to 1pm sketching and preparing for day
1pm to 2pm glassworking- filling orders
2pm to 3pm glassworking- filling orders
3pm to 4pm glassworking- filling orders
4pm to 5pm take a break
5pm to 6pm experimental glassworking
6pm to 7pm experimental glassworking
7pm to 8pm take a break
8pm to 9pm ordering supplies, inventory duties
9pm to 10pm cleaning up, preparing for next day
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
self-started business

What was the application process?
self-started business

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
self-started business

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
self-started business

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
self-started business

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I studied at a glassworking studio for 2 years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes- I studied what I specifically wanted to do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I work in a skilled position, so they would have to hone those skills through school or experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
independent, self-starter, strong imagination

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitely some training, and lots of practice.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Follow your heart- if it is what you really want to do, just do it and you will become better at it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I want to do this forever.

What are your current career goals?
I want to double the income my business generates.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 N/A
Prior Job 2 N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.