Business Owner, Bookkeeper 

(Female, Age 39) from Roosevelt, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Business Owner, Bookkeeper in Roosevelt, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Business Owner, Bookkeeper
Salary $75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Roosevelt, NY
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a self-employed bookkeeper. I work full-time for my business, Art of Accounts Inc. I have many clients that I see regulary. There is one other person working with me part-time.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Bill paying, invoicing, bank and credit card reconciliations, budgeting, collections.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Unlimited amount of vacation and sick time. I have health insurance and 401k through my husband’s employer

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am well compensated at my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am I began my day
9am to 10am I took this time to boot up my laptop and check my emails. I also printed out all documents, invoices, statements, etc that were emailed to me by my clients. That is what I take to work.
10am to 11am This is one of the days I work at the library. I have a few clients that I do their bookkeeping while at the library, rather than in an office or their homes. There is a lot of data entry involved, but I really enjoy what I do.
11am to 12pm More bookkeeping…
12pm to 1pm More bookkeeping for me. I hardly ever take a lunch break. I get so into my work that I don’t want to leave and get lunch.
1pm to 2pm I decided to chat with a friend for a bit on instant messenger. I logged out my work time with the client I was working on. Once I finish my personal thing of instant messenging, I log back in my new start time.
2pm to 3pm I got back into the bookkeeping for the same client. At this time, I matched up all his receipts to his bank statement. It is time consuming, but necessary in order to work more efficiently.
3pm to 4pm I finished matching up the receipts. Then I started entering all the debit purchases in QuickBooks, which is the accounting software I use. It is a great program, especially for photographers. I work with quite a few photographers. There is a lot of job tracking and QuickBooks is great for that.
4pm to 5pm I am thinking about ending my day soon. That is the beauty of having your own business. You are on your schedule and can start/end the day when you want. I love that! I highly recommend starting a business of your own.
5pm to 6pm I am actually going to shut down my computer now. I will take a break from it all and catch a movie.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.