Nde Technician (Female, Age 34) in Sorrento, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Nde Technician in Sorrento, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNde Technician
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSorrento, LA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We construct new vessels or tanks for refineries all over the U.S.A., and some over seas plants. We also do maintenance on existing vessels inside of refineries. There are approximately 500 field employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of data entry, filing, reviewing x-ray film shot of the welds, visually inspecting welds, handling all in process and completion testing on the welds to insure that there are no indications present to compromise the weld. I work side by side with the weld supervisors, superintendants, welders and bullgangers.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes, very much so

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I mostly work alone on paperwork and film grading and some weld testing. I am most usually the only female on the job, as this is a male dominated industry. When I am testing or in the field inspecting I am surrounded by most of the crew I work with. I sometimes have an assistant with me when it comes time to start testing the welds. I really enjoy working with other people who are in different crafts/trades. You can learn so much more that way. I absolutely love my job and enjoy working with a variety of people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We do most of our work outside in the elements. I do have an office that I am in for a little while in the mornings reviewing film and then again in the afternoon setting up xray scheduling and doing weld mapping. I really like working outside, except it can really take its toll on the body working in extreme hot or cold. But I would rather do that than be couped up in an office all day long.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred by a friend of mine.

What was the application process?
Paper application with a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to do a brief interview to see if I qualified for the position. Then once told I had the job, I was required to attend a safety training and plant orientation meeting. This was done with other individuals that were accepting other positions.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my job and personal work ethics. If I had any certifications on equipment, if I thought that I would have any problems working with a crew of mostly guys. I was also asked about general safety knowledge, general refinery rules and regulations, if I possessed a TWIC card.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
My job recommends a background in welding. You have to be able to understand the different metals and be able to correct a welder when it is being done wrong. So I would suggest going to welding school and then enroll in an NDE class at a local college or find a company that offers on the job training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
There are many skills that are needed in my field. Typing and computer skills are a must, for tracking all data. Communication skills, organizational skills, not being afraid of heights, a willingness to learn, working long hours out in the elements, being on a tight deadline, ability to prioritize, ability to work independently as well as working well with others, ability to supervise.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, there are several levels to be obtained. You have to want to learn all of the aspects of the job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would suggest going to welding school and then work as a welder for at least 6 months to a year to get a better understanding of the different types of welding and metals. Then I would suggest taking a basic NDE course to get prepared for starting in the field. Next I would tell them to research many different construction companies and find one that offers on the job training, so that they could obtain the hours that are needed to get themselves to the next level of training.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.