Environmental Technician (Male, Age 29) in ephrata, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 29 who works as a Environmental Technician in ephrata, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEnvironmental Technician
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationephrata, PA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
landfill with a workforce of about 52 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
daily site inspection to ensure all regulations are being upheld

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i enjoy working with others

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 6:30am go around site and do daily site evaluation. Check several pump stations and make sure they are working properly. Go and assess the daily disposal site.
8am to 9amBegin paperwork. There are several forms that need to be completed on a daily basis to ensure nothing is being over looked.
9am to 10amContinue with paper work. Also do another site evaluation as well as a perimeter odor check.
10am to 11amSite tour of facility. Take 25 4th and 5th grade students around facility to show them the ins and out of the landfill. This is part of our giving back to the community.
11am to 12pmFinish tour show them the work that goes into the landfill before the trash can be disposed of.
12pm to 1pmLunch and site assessment also another perimeter odor survey around facility
1pm to 2pmPA Department of Environmental Protection arrives on site for a site evaluation.Take him around facility. No issues are found.
2pm to 3pmGo and do some survey work in the area of new construction. Discuss any issues with the operations manager.
3pm to 4pmContinue to survey area and verifying that the current construction is going to the plan
4pm to 5pmBegin wrapping up for the day. Verify that disposal site is properly closed down and do any overall site assessment to ensure there are no issues before leaving. Final perimeter odor survey. Leave site at 5:00PM
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
resume and paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
na

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no I was just thrown into the position and had to fend for myself basically

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes I had several training course prior to taking this position through my college courses

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes it taught me to be organized

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
have a desire to protect the environment and good organizational skills

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organization is very important, also a strong computer background and communication skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to be patient it can be very overwhelming at first, and requires a lot of time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I feel from here I can move up to position of higher authority

What are your current career goals?
To find a position that does not require so many hours

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CQA manager3 year40000quality control for landfill construction
Prior Job 2environmental technician6 year65000to maintain environmental compliance on a daily basis and maintaining a good public image

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5CCBCassociate
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.