Teacher (Male, Age 38) in charlotte, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a Teacher in charlotte, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location charlotte, NC
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
200 people 1200 students school

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
teach, coach, grade papers and plan

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
free health, matching 403B

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
good, not super

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes It is good.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrive at scholl. prepare for first class. check email
8am to 9am teach period 1 class. (65 minutes)
9am to 10am break. No classes. Time to grade papers, plan for next class, make copies, answer more email, get coffee
10am to 11am next class. 65 minutes. Teach. activities and quizzes and other planned events. lots of movements
11am to 12pm break. more grading, answering emails and copying for next classes. Spend a little time with fellow teachers talking about plans.
12pm to 1pm LUNCH.. grab it and get back to computer so I could grade and surf the web for more plans.
1pm to 2pm teach class. same as previous classes.
2pm to 3pm last class. also 65 minutes. teach full period tinn 3:15
3pm to 4pm coach track. I leave at 3:30 to coach track athletes – planning workouts and taking attendance.
4pm to 5pm Coaching athletes. finish practice around 5pm.
5pm to 6pm between 5:00-5:15 I get back to the office and continue to plan for the next day and grade papers. make copies and create tests and quizzes.
6pm to 7pm drive home. Get some dinner and take out computer and plan for next day. watch TV
7pm to 8pm no work now. I rest and watch TV, clean up house.
8pm to 9pm some last minute planning for classes and grading. About 30 minutes of the hour. rest is relaxing
9pm to 10pm TV
10pm to 11pm TV
11pm to 12am TV – sleep at 1am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet. VIA email and websearch.

What was the application process?
sending resume to school then a visit for 1 day interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
full day. Met with students, teachers, did a sample class, met with administration. started at 8am and ended at 4pm

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what my goals were. How I taught? why NC? why leaving NYC?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had the experience before I came,

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
education in college, some teaching classes.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I am a strong student.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
school – and practice teaching

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
people skills, love of knowledge, organization and computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
masters, very high level

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get as much experience as you can in college courses and teacheing contacts with types of students,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I hope to retire from teaching then move to administration soon.

What are your current career goals?
Teach for 4-5 years more (total of 20) then administration for 15 years… retire around 60.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no. just under appreciated and under paid.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 teacher 4 years 80000 teacher in a NY public school. Coach
Prior Job 2 teacher 2 years 50000 teacher of a public MS.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:92

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 St. john’s Univ Mathematics BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.3 st. john’s Iniv Mathematics MA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.