Kindergarten Teacher (Female, Age 27) in Ellicott City, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Kindergarten Teacher in Ellicott City, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleKindergarten Teacher
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationEllicott City, MD
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Montgomery County Public Schools – 497 square miles – Currently 129 Elementary Schools serving 138,000 students with 11,500 teachers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
planning and implementing curriuclum, assessing students, planning field trips, report cards, grading, working with colleages, attending/ participating in committee meetings and staff meetings, communication with parents, creating newsletters and homework, creating differentiated learning centers…

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, vison

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like working with others, I love my team and many of the other teachers. But some of the other staff are not willing to pull their own weight and you have to do extra work because of it. I don’t want the kids to miss out b/c other staff are lazy. I like most of the staff, but some people I honestly avoid at all costs. Luckily it’s a big school…

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I like: most of the staff, the kids, nice building, snow days :)… Dislike: Not enough planning time, not enough money for supplies, my principal

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amarrive at work, prepare the room for the students. Make sure plans are up and ready, centers are ready, reading group books are out, all worksheets are copies, log on computers, check work email, open blinds, clean
8am to 9amContinue to prepare for kids until 8:40 when kids come in. Take lunch count and attendance. Students put their belongings away and complete their morning work (activity which reviews a skill we’ve previously worked on)
9am to 10amCircle time – morning message (fill in missing letters/words), read plans, calendar (what is today/tomorrow/yesterday) weather, count days of school. Read a story and do a foundational skills lesson (oral language, ryhming, letters, sight words, syllables, book knowledge, etc. Begin our first literacy center and reading group.
10am to 11amContinue centers/ reading groups until 10:15. 10:15-10:55 (MTW) students go to Art/Music/PE and I plan and make centers, etc. (Tu/Th we contine with our centers, finish centers and do writing)
11am to 12pm11:00-11:40, more centers and reading groups, 11:40, morning snack
12pm to 1pm11:50-12:40 Math, whole group and small group math lessons
1pm to 2pm12:40-1:40 Lunch/recess = planning and eating
2pm to 3pm1:40-2:40, science/social studies lesson or a review of math/reading concept if needed. 2:40, pack up and go to afternoon circle time where we review our day.
3pm to 4pm3:05 Kids go home! By 3:15 all busses and walkers are gone and I can clean up the room and plan for the next day. 3:30 meetings start
4pm to 5pmstaff meeting or team leader meeting. yay. Listen, discuss, plan, fun fun…
5pm to 6pmusually planning/ copying/ getting books from the media center/ laminating
6pm to 7pmhome for cooking dinner
7pm to 8pmmore making centers. usually coloring something or cutting laminating.
8pm to 9pmTV
9pm to 10pmTV
10pm to 11pmSLEEP
11pm to 12amSLEEP

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was an education major in college and went to the job fair.

What was the application process?
resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. Interview with the county (individual interview, but it was crazy, lots of people interviewing in the same room at the same time, each with their own interview person), and then with specific schools, just me and a few staff from that school.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I dont remember exactly a question about teaching reading, one question about dealing with difficult parents, a question about math, and a question about dealing with a difficult child I think.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No…neither did the University Of Maryland. But, I really don;t know if there is a “proper” way to get you ready to teach, You have to jump in and do it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
New Teacher Orientation. A week of BS “classes” it was pointless.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Kinda, I think they could have done a better job, in that I should have been in the classroom more throughout my undergraduate career.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes. (student teaching) The first “taste” of what teaching is like

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
submit thier resume to MCPS and go the spring job fair. If you get an open contract they have to place you somewhere by the beginning of the next school year.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized – you need to know what each child is doing at all times and the needs (academic and socially) of each child so you can differentiate their learning to the best of your ability. You need to have different centers and reading groups going and it is a lot. Organization is Key. You have to plan for centers to keep the kids engaged while you pull your small groups, which you also have to plan for, on various levels. You have to assess your kids and keep all of that straight and then plan your future instruction based on your current assessments, and of course you have to assess students between assessment windows (progress moniotring) You need to be Flexible. All day long there are interuptions, PA announcements, people pulling some of your kids for various services (ESOL, Speech, Academic Support), fire drills, code red/blue drills, picture day, etc etc. Kids will throw up, wet their pants, cry, etc, and you just have to be flexible and go with the flow. You need to have Patience for those reasons as well. It is hecht balancing everything you have to do with all the interuptions and the tattling and whining, and the shoe tying… I think those 3 skills are the most important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
YES!! Too many people see teaching as a “fall back” job. “Well, If nothing else I can always teach” NO NO NO

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get your degree in eduation, so you can get your feet wet student teaching and in internships etc, so you know what you are getting yourself into. Its the best job, but its a lot of work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to stay with MCPS until I retire. The pay scale gets better; every year you go up a step.

What are your current career goals?
Teach Kindergarten another year or two and then become a reading teacher hopefully, then go back to the classroom after a few years (I am sure I will miss having “my own” kids)

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
The pay wouldn’t be so bad if we got paid for the actual hours we work. THERE IS NOT ENOUGH PLANNING TIME. I can’t say that enough.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Kindergarten Teacher6 years$60KAlready answered this in very first question
Prior Job 2n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.85University of Maryland, College ParkEarly Childhood Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4.0/4.0Western MD College and Johns Hopkins UniversityCurriuclum and Instruction/ Reading

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.