(Male, Age 38) from lakeworth, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a Accountant in lakeworth, FL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location lakeworth, FL
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a mid size office which deals with processing of insurance claims.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Keeping records in excel of expenditures and balance the books and keep track of pending and settled claims.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health and dental benefits. Insurance policy and paid sick leave and vacation.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated .

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I dislike it is a small office and that everything is a major rush. I also dislike that everyone is keeping on eye on you. There is not a liberal lunch time span as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office in a large bulding.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Leave and drive to work.
8am to 9am Enter the office and get ready for the day.
9am to 10am Get down to business record the transactions that were left on my desk.
10am to 11am Speak on phone to manager who requested pertinent infomation about a claim placed months ago.
11am to 12pm Researched and found the information that was requested of me.
12pm to 1pm Lunch break, and then a rush back to the office.
1pm to 2pm MOre entries into excel and checked the latest entries .
2pm to 3pm Gathered some more insight into the backlog of claims that were processed.
3pm to 4pm Looked over expenditures for the company and itemized their expenditures.
4pm to 5pm Did alot of printing and faxing.
5pm to 6pm Entered the latest transaction and spoke to one of my co workers about the timely or should I say the delay in the claims processed.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Word of mouth a friend told me about the opening.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and personal interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with two higher ups in the company.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked me my expectations, what I planned on doing in the future. IS this just a stepping stone or am I in for the long haul. THey were very interested in my career goals and if I was comfortable and experienced on the computer.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I already had experience in this field and knew what I was doing. I felt he was repititious.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes somewhat they just explained to me what was expected and the time frame I had. THey also explained how they wanted information recorded , and how everything was backup up and saved.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Of course, my educational background prepared me for my job. I had accounting and managerial accounting courses in school. I also had classes in computer and learned how to do spread sheets, and learned every aspect of the computer for accounting purposes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes my first job prepared me for any job in the future.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Submit a resume

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
an accounting degree, prior experience in spread sheets. Another requirement is that one has to be proficient and very computer literate.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes accountant background and experience is a must

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have strong computer skills.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not exactly, it is for now. In the future I would like to get a different job in a more stimulating atmosphere /

What are your current career goals?
My goal is to find a more rewarding job and the salary should reflect my experience.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I cant complain since salaries in Florida are just not up to par and the standard of living is less. THe half an hour lunch hours are for the birds not me.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Auditor 2 28 I was an auditor who kept records for the firm
Prior Job 2 Accountant 4 70000 DId payroll, auditing, compliance, and paid all bills and kept an accurate account of invoices as well as accounts receivable.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:b

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Baruch College Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.