Assistant Manager Of Administration 

(Female, Age 28) from Louisville, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Assistant Manager Of Administration in Louisville, KY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Manager Of Administration
Salary $47,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Louisville, KY
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a smallish company of 56 employees that was established 11 years ago. We are a government contractor, providing 95% of our business. We provide videoconferencing services and equipment, as well as perform custom audio/visual room solutions for organizations, schools, hospitals, and the government. If it’s related to technology, we will find a way to do it.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I maintain the industrial security clearances. I handle all the purchasing for internal and customer needs. I approve federal and commercial quotes, proposals, and cost analyses. I maintain the asset management tracking system, which is a database of all of our internal and customer equipment. I maintain vendor relations. I create bills of material based on customer POs and equipment order, tracking ETAs and serial numbers. I handle day-to-day financial tasks.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Simple IRA, health HSA, dental, 3 weeks vacation, 10 paid holidays, 5 sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am shift begins at 8am
8am to 9am Made adjustments in asset tracking system. Updating addresses, installation dates, and job names.
9am to 10am Updated Bills of Material with equipment ETAs and serial numbers. Matched packing lists up with invoices to prepare for accounting entry.
10am to 11am Entered 24 systems (15 pieces of equipment each) into the asset tracking system. This requires filling in an equipment record for each and assigning to the appropriate job.
11am to 12pm Lunch

General filing of invoices and POs for the past week, while I eat. Catch up on emails from co-workers.

12pm to 1pm Ordered equipment for a federal job. This requires checking the prices provided to me and to ensuring that all equipment still has valid part numbers. I create a Purchase Order for each manufacturer and submit via email. I create the BOM by matching up each piece of equipment to the appropriate line item on the customer PO to Trinity.
1pm to 2pm Met with Director of Administration to discuss administrative needs for 2011. This included required training opportunities and the need for an additional staff member.
2pm to 3pm Entered employees into our industrial security database, ensured all clearances were in good standing. Sent over visit authorization requests to the government to ensure new employees would be allowed entry into the building.
3pm to 4pm Entered invoices into the accounting system. Assign each invoice to its corresponding job so that expenses can be tracked appropriately. This allows me, at the end of the job, to analyze the actual vs estimated expenses.
4pm to 5pm Entered equipment into asset tracking system. We currently have a 4 month backlog on jobs being entered into the system. I’m taking advantage of our slow time to get everything up to date.
5pm to 6pm commute home
6pm to 7pm none
7pm to 8pm Enter equipment in asset tracking system. Run accounting reports from home.
8pm to 9pm none
9pm to 10pm none
10pm to 11pm none
11pm to 12am none

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.