Teacher (Female, Age 33) in Bayonne, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Teacher in Bayonne, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Bayonne, NJ
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a second grade teacher

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach all subjects

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no vacation, 10 sick days, blue cross & blue shield

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
underly compensated-no contract 2 years

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I wrok with 25 second graders

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am N/A
9am to 10am Students are picked up in school yard. Students are to work on journal writing. They must write 4 sentences using proper punctuation.
10am to 11am Storytime. The students are read a story and they must complete a story map. Toward the beginning of the year I must complete this with them. At the end of the year they can do this by themself.
11am to 12pm We will work on our grammar klesson for the week. For example, the students worked on what a noun is and they had to make up sentences circling the nouns in each sentence.
12pm to 1pm Lunchtime
1pm to 2pm The studmets have their gym period for excercise.
2pm to 3pm The students will work on their math lesson for the week. This week we are working on studying coins. We are beging to add coins such as 2 dimes and 3 nickels. The students will also count coins to make change for a dollar.
3pm to 4pm Grading papers by myself
4pm to 5pm N/A
5pm to 6pm N/A
6pm to 7pm N/A
7pm to 8pm N/A
8pm to 9pm N/A
9pm to 10pm N/A
10pm to 11pm N/A
11pm to 12am N/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
a friend

What was the application process?
submitted resume and paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to have two interviews with the 1 superitendent- I also had to complete 5 essay questions

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
College did

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Bachelor’s Degree in education

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes I needed to take have an internship in my senior year

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes as it had shown me exactly what the position was about hands on

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them to get a masters degree in education

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very organized with all of the paper work.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes you must have a bachelor degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take any advice

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I ove my job.

What are your current career goals?
My career goal is to retire a teacher.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Teacher 6 years 45000 Educating our future
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 NJCU Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.