Prototype Machinist (Male, Age 40) in garrett, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 40 who works as a Prototype Machinist in garrett, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Prototype Machinist
Salary $45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location garrett, IN
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
150 people in a jobshop. Manufacturing medical instruments and implants

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
produce custom and prototype medical instruments and implants

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
copay insurance/401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work very closly with two others.i like the fact yhat we have become a team that seems to read eachothers thoughts as to how to preform tasks

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in a corner with access to variouse machinetools

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am write nc programs
8am to 9am write nc programs
9am to 10am run test parts & inspect
10am to 11am debugg program
11am to 12pm run more tests and inspect
12pm to 1pm start short production run, turn in part for qa approval
1pm to 2pm production & inspection
2pm to 3pm production, pass on info about job to second shift
3pm to 4pm go home to work on kitchen remodling
4pm to 5pm work on kitchen
5pm to 6pm work on kitchen
6pm to 7pm have supper with wife,help with dishes
7pm to 8pm watch tv
8pm to 9pm watch tv
9pm to 10pm watch tv
10pm to 11pm go to bed,sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
dropped off resume at the right time

What was the application process?
paper

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
one interview with floor supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
any expierience in the medical field

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes,training in inspection and paperwork

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes,have related associates degree

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
find a machine shop with an apprenticeship program

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good mechanical ability, likes to tinker

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
training yes, education somewhat

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be paitent,Ive been doing this for over twenty years and am still learning

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, wanted to get expierence in the medical manufacturing field

What are your current career goals?
move to larger company with inhouse prototype facilities

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 toolmaker 6 months 32000 build and repair rubbermolds
Prior Job 2 journeyman toolmaker 5 years 72000 production support

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 ivy tech associate machine tool
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.