Promotions/Operations Manager (Female, Age 30) in Pomona, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Promotions/Operations Manager in Pomona, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePromotions/Operations Manager
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPomona, CA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work for the Southern California Region of the American Red Cross Blood Services Division. We collect blood from donors through Southern CA and provide the blood to hospitals for the patient use. There are roughly 1200 employees at regionla headquarters.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for distributing all promotional materials to every blood drive in our region. I also seek out partnerships to help us sponsor giveaways for blood donors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 Weeks vacation, Health insurance, dental insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
We are very much a team environement. I often enlist the help of my co workers to finish emergency projects and I often help them with theirs. I like the team atmosphere. It makes me feel supported.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Our team environment helps me to complete my projects and also to fully understand the scope of what our organization does. I do not just work on one part of the projetc but by gettign and receiving help from co workers I understand what they are working on and how my project relates and is connected to theirs.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive
9am to 10amtalked to my supervisor about projects I have to work on today. Discussed what the most important ones are. Planned my task list for the rest of the day
10am to 11amI worked on strategy for 3 partners that are sponsoring a giveaway for blood donors for the next 3 months. Came up with possible ideas on how to promote the partnership and what the best way to distribute the giveaway to donors will be.
11am to 12pmSpoke to contacts of the above partners to seek approval and input on ideas we have for their partnerships.
12pm to 1pmEnlisted the help of the graphics team to create artwork for all of the above partnerships.
1pm to 2pmlunch
2pm to 3pmWorked on email marketing strategy for the above partnerships. Created email template for each partnership and began research on who should receive the emails.
3pm to 4pmMade 200 promotional goodie bags for a last minute promotion this weekend.
4pm to 5pmspoke to vendor about possible gift ideas for blood donor sponsors
5pm to 6pmResponded to all pertinent emails for the day. Left for the day
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to do an initial interview with HR and then a follow up interview with the director of the department

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember but i know it was basic and nothing out of the ordinary. Tell me about yourself, your past experience, what are your goals, ets

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My position was evolving at that point and it could have gone in several directions. I think they did the right thing by allowing me to be creative with it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No. It was more like here is what we need you to accompalish and I got creative and started to think of ways to encourage people to donate.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think my college expericen and my work experience helped me by teaching me people skills and organizational skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Find an organization that has a mission you belive in and then look for interesting positions iwthin the organization.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to be very detail oriented and a friendly people person. Seeking out community partnerships forces you to meet people from all walks of life and you have to be able to interact with them. You also have to be organized because there are often multiple projects that must be completed at you cannot lose track of where you are on each one. Knowledge of Excel is also a must.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No. You just need to be organized, sociable and able to adapt

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Ask Questions? Be pro active. Become a blood donor yourself and start to dissect the reasons why people donate blood and why they do not. Once you understand the importance of the community blood supply you can start to be creative and come up with ideas on how to motivate peopel to help saves lives.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I think eventually I have to move on to a for profit company.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to leave this position with as much structure and foundation as I can for the next person to take over which in itself will be training for me for my next endeavor. I want to do what I do at a for profit company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I like working for a company that I belive in.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Manager2 years30000I was a trainer for new employees at a resort management company
Prior Job 2Manager1year25000I was a supervisor for phone operators

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7RedlandsBachelors
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.