Transcriber (Female, Age 37) in Citrus Springs, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Transcriber in Citrus Springs, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTranscriber
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCitrus Springs, FL
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A private doctor who is located about 30 minutes away from my home.

I transcribe medical documents for him.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am sent a packet or I can go pick it up of medical papers/documents

and tapes that I am then supposed to transcribe similar to a stenographer.

So I then translate them to typed documents then send them back to the doctor.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I could make a little more

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
No I work at home alone. I like being by myself in a quiet enviroment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office, it is the best place I have ever worked! No one breathing down your neck!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI do not start this early in the morning!!!
8am to 9amI get up and get ready to get my work together. I prepare everything so I do no have to look for anything.
9am to 10amI play the tapes of the doctors talking and begin transcribing everything that I hear. Sometimes I go back and play the tapes again to double check myself. Most of my day consists of just listiening and typing.
10am to 11amAgain I am just going through tapes and playing them then transcribing them.
11am to 12pmIf I get done early on one project I might start another before lunch so that I will be a little ahead of the game when I get back.
12pm to 1pmLunch time!!!! I stay at home mostly for lunch. But once in a while if I can take a longer lunch I go down to the local cafe for a sandwich.
1pm to 2pmBack to work. I still probably have quite a bit of typing to do which I now concentrate hard to finish. I like to get done a little early since I set my own hours.
2pm to 3pmNow I am finishing up all my paperwork and getting it packed up to be sent back to the doctor.
3pm to 4pmI go to the doctors office and drop off the finished work or I can also mail it back if there is no rush.
4pm to 5pmno more work!!!
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through pounding pavemnet

What was the application process?
resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had two interviews. The first interview was with the receptionist and then the doctor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why did I choose this career and where did I think it would take me in twenty years.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes they were kind on me when I first came because it was new to me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I had to go to college. I had to learn the same words that doctors and nurses etc. have to learn so I can understand them. Then I had to learn how to type fast, because many companies require you type so many wpm.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I knew what to expect when I went out there

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First they would have to go to college to get training in medical terminology and transcribing amoung other classes. Then when you come out of school, the actual school can help you find job placement. You can either work out of an office or work from home depending on the companies policies.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Medical terminology & great typing speed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient, the money does get better!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes this is what I want to do the rest of my life.

What are your current career goals?
What I am doing now.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a great field to get into.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1transciber6 monthschanged oftenmedical transciber
Prior Job 2server10 years2.13w/ tipswaiter

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4cucmed.transcription
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.