Medical Receptionist (Female, Age 58) in olympia, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 58 who works as a Medical Receptionist in olympia, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Receptionist
Salary$38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationolympia, WA
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I answer phones at an in-bound call center for a major insurance company in Washington State.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I schedule appoints with patients, train new employees, paper work etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, medical, dental, vision, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
somewhat well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I enjoy working with others a great deal, this is one of my favorite aspects of my job. My co-workers are great.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. Open cubicles that allow us to talk to our co-workers/supervisors if need be.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A newspaper ad

What was the application process?
submitted resume as well as e-application. Then two interviews then hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. There were two interview then I was hired immediately after the second one. They were both semi-group interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Standard interview questions as I recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
As much as they could, yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there were several months of training for my position. The training included computer training, phone training and to this day still I’m still in the training process, as is everyone I work with.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
generally yes. I think it helped having customer service experience more than anything.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they practice their people skill, specifically over the phone.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Socials skills, fast typing skills, multi-tasker, good computer skills, pleasant voice, patience.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not really education beyond a highschool diploma, but yes training is needed to be successful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
For now it is yes. I can’t imagine working somewhere else for the time being.

What are your current career goals?
See above.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I’m satisfied for now. It could pay a bit more but other than that, I’m happy with it.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8George Washington UniversityTeaching
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.