Teacher (Female, Age 34) in Northfield, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Teacher in Northfield, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNorthfield, NY
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a preschool teacher. There are 15 employees. We have children from 3-5 years old.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for doing all of the art class projects with the children. I also set up the schedules and lesson plans for the rest of our classes. I help the other teachers with their classes every day.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 401K, 12 sick days per year and HMO health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love working with children. I tolerate most of my co- workers. We work very closely together.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We have a bright cheery school. I love it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAt 8:30 am staff is expected to be at work. Everything needs to be set up for the day. We go over class schedules for that day.
8am to 9amSchool starts at 9 am. There is free play from 9-9:30 am. The kids can pick whatever toys they want.
9am to 10am9:30 is when free play ends. We then go over our theme of the day with the kids. There is usually a color, letter, a number and shape.
10am to 11amFrom 10-10:30 we have show and tell. It is based around a theme given to them the day before. One day they may be asked to bring in a soft item. Another day a blue item etc.

From 10:30 to 11:30, we have music class.

11am to 12pmMusic class ends at 11:30. During music class the children take turns with different instruments. They sing and dance to the songs. From 11:30 to 12, the children have free play while lunch is set up.
12pm to 1pmFrom 12-12:30, the kids eat lunch. The teachers eat with them. By 12:30 lunch is done. Everything is cleaned up by 12:45. The children go outside at 12:45.
1pm to 2pmThe children come in at 1:30 from outside. The younger ones take a nap at 1:30 and the older ones go into another room and have game and puzzle time.
2pm to 3pmThe younger children sleep until 2:45. The older children usually do a simple art project while the younger ones are asleep. At 2:45 the younger ones are slowly woken up.
3pm to 4pmAt 3 pm, it is time for art class. This usually goes at a slow pace, and the kids get done around 4.
4pm to 5pmFrom 4-4:15 we read books. At around 4, the teachers fill out a paper for each student to send home to their parents. The paper says how much they ate, if they napped, paticipation level etc. From 4:15-4:30, we clean up, get kids ready to leave and at 4:30, they are picked up. From 4:30 until 5 staff cleans up, mops floors, vacuums, cleans bathrooms. At 5 staff leaves.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. There were interviews with both of the owners. I had to agree to a complete background check.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The usual questions.. “Why do you think you would be right for this job” as well as asking what experience I had.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, but my schooling did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have a 2 year early childhood education degree.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I learned about childhood development.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree. At least a 2 year.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must work well with kids. Must be smart, quick, patient and organized.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be friendly, cheerful and love kids!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I planned to be a pre-school teacher.

What are your current career goals?
I’d like to own my own preschool in the future.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Nanny5 yrs25000Was a nanny for a 1 year old.
Prior Job 2Self Emplored1 year24000Nanny for a 3 year old.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
ACCCEarly Childhood Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.