Pharmacy Technician (Female, Age 25) in Kentwood, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Pharmacy Technician in Kentwood, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Pharmacy Technician
Salary $27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Kentwood, MI
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the largest employer in West Michigan. My employer employees over 20,000 people in the health care field.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist pharmacists in the preparation and dispensing of medications for patients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical,dental,vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with at least 5 other people on a day to day basis. I love working with others and helping people out.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Wake up and eat breakfast with my kids.
8am to 9am Do house chores and get my kids bathed and dressed.
9am to 10am Play with my kids and possibly take them out to the park.
10am to 11am Make my kids lunch and start getting them to calm down for their naps.
11am to 12pm Get my kids ready for their naps and put them to sleep.
12pm to 1pm Have some quiet time to myself before I have to get ready for work.
1pm to 2pm Get ready for work and then wait for the babysitter to get to my house. Start my drive to work at 13:45 which will take me approximately 25 minutes.
2pm to 3pm Continue my drive to work and start my shift and 14:30. Head to the area that I will be working in for the night. Make whatever medications or IV’s need to be made at that time. Check the stock in the pharmacy and start a list. Go and deliver whatever medications I prepared and then go get my stock.
3pm to 4pm Continue getting my stock and then return to the pharmacy to put it away. Answer a phone call from a nurse about a missing dose of medication for a patient that is due at 16:00. Give the nurse and extra dose and then continue with whatever stock needs to be put away.
4pm to 5pm Check my work email for the upcoming staff meetings. Reply to an email from my boss about possibly working a few 3rd shifts in August. Reply to my boss that yes I would be willing to help her out for a few days. Make a few medications for a patient that was just admitted. Deliver the medication to the patients room once the pharmacist has checked that I made it accurately.
5pm to 6pm Continue helping the pharmacist make medications for patients and get ready to head to break for an hour.
6pm to 7pm Dinner break
7pm to 8pm Come back from my break and help the pharmacist deliver any medications that were made while I was gone. Help a nurse look for a missing medication. Cannot find the medication so I replace it with a new one to give to the patient at 20:00.
8pm to 9pm Go through the pharmacy and check stock that I may need to get before the pharmacy closes and 21:00. Go down to the main pharmacy and grab stock to replace what I used in the pharmacy I was working at tonight. Return to the pharmacy I am working in and put away the stock. Help the pharmacist make any last minute medications before we leave for the night.
9pm to 10pm Punch out and drive home!
10pm to 11pm Pick up my house and get ready for bed.
11pm to 12am Finally go to bed and wait for one of my kids to wake me up any minute.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submit resume and electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had an interview for my current job. After I submitted my electronic application and resume a human resource representative contacted me. He then set up a interview with me to meet with him and go over the job qualifications. After passing that interview I met with the department coordinator and interviewed with him. After both interviews they did a background check and checked my previous employers and references. After all of that cleared I was called back.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked how I would handle certain situations with other co-workers. Also how I would handle certain tasks given to me that had to be done in a certain amount of time.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I feel I had a sufficient amount of training. I was trained for at least 2 weeks in each area that I work in.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was training for my current position. Every new employee, whether they have experience or not, has to go through on the job training. How long that training lasts depends on how easily you pick the job up. But most of the time you follow a current employee around and they show you what is expected of you.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, classes that I took in college definitely make my job easier. Using basic math skills and conversions is the most helpful thing from my educational background.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they do a job shadow for a few hours to see if they would be interested in the actual work we do. Then I would tell him or her to take the Pharmacy Certification test to be considered for hire.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Someone would have to be a multitasker, fast mover and very organized to do a job like mine.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need to have basic math skills and be able to communicate well with others.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient and listen to what your trainer is telling you. Always ask questions even if it is a little one.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is part of my career plan, because I eventually would like to go on to graduate school and become a PhD.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to go back to school and become a pharmacist so that I can get a better paying job to support my family.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Pharmacy Technician II 3 years 27000 Assist pharmacist and nursing staff in the preparation and dispensing of medication to patients.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Grand Rapids Community College Biomedical Sciences
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.