Office Manager (Female, Age 54) in Canton, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 54 who works as a Office Manager in Canton, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCanton, OH
Years Experience6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Office manager for a lawncare company. Responsible for alll aspects of running the office from phone calls to billibg to making schedules for the employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Managing all aspects of running the office. From billing to answering phone calls and coordinating employees schedules.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
flextime

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job entails me working with others but I am the only person besides my boss that works in the office. I work directly with the employees of the company but they are out on jobs most of the day. I also work with customers via the phone. Working with others is something I enjoy because I am a people person and enjoy interaction with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My coworkers consist of a group of guys that do lawncare and the only interaction I have with them is the first part of the morning coordinating schedules.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amOn my way to the office. Arrived at work at 7:15. The first thing I had to do was go over the schedule for the lawn care crews and pass out the maps to several new locations that I had gotten from mapquest. Made sure everyone was on the same page.
8am to 9amOpened the mail. Separated the mail into payments received and mail for the guys. Passed out the mail by putting it into the various in boxes. Checked the voicemail for messages and wrote down the messages and distributed them to the person they were for. Answered the phone a copuple times during this process.
9am to 10amAnswered the phone several more times. These calls were from clients interested in getting an estimate for landscaping so I tracked down my boss to let him know about these calls. Continued opening the payments that had been received. My boss came into the office and asked for a file that he had been trying to find for a couple days. He had a meeting with the client in the afternoon so this was top priority. Spent the remainder of this time looking for the missing file.
10am to 11amContinued to look for the mnissing file. Answered more phone calls. These calls included a call from an angry client so I had to track my boss down again since I couldn’t get this person to agree to a return phone call. Found my boss and then I continued to look for the missing file. The copier needed the ink cartridge changed sao I did that.
11am to 12pmContinued to look for the missing file. Spent a good portion of this time going through file drawers. Decided to check the in and out boxes for the guys and finally found the file in the in box of the landscaping crew supervisor. Started to apply the payments received today on to the customer’s accounts.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmReturned from lunch and checked the answering machine. Contacted my boss to let him now I had found the file. Had to drive the file to him since he was in a meeting and wasn’t able to return to the office. This took around 1/2 hour.
2pm to 3pmReturned to the office to continue to apply the payments received. Answered more phone calls and either took a message or solved the problem. Finished applying the payments. Did a balance check and discovered I was out ocf balance in comparing the amount of checks received versus the amount applied to the accounts. Had to find the out of balance. Discovered I hadn’t applied 2 months of payments on a commercial account I had only applied one. Applied the payment and redid my balance sheet and finally balanced.
3pm to 4pmStarted to do the billing for the previous week. Entered all the charges and started to print the bills when the printer jammed. Had to unjam the printer and then had to redo the ones I had already printed since they were all wrinkled due to the paper jam. Answered more calls during this time and took messages.
4pm to 5pmGot the schedule for the crews ready for the next day. Printed directions for the new jobs on mapquest. Put these in the guys in boxes. Shut down the office for the day and left for home.
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I got my job because the owners of the company are friends

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had to interview with 2 people at different times. The interview process consisted of a lunch meeting and just talking and going over my qualifications and salary requirements with one of the owners of the company. The other interview was me going to the office and sharing the ideas I had of how I would organize the office and also went over my qualifications with my direct supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The previous experience I had, What I wanted as a salary, how was I at organizing things, did I have any accounting experience, how I felt about working in a small office with me being the only office person, did I have good communication skills

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I knew excactly what I was getting into and it sounded challenging.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was just a small amount of training but since one of the reasons I was hired was to organize the office and put procedures in place I started out with many new things , like computer programs, that were new to everyone so I basically had to just learn them myself and show my boss how to use them.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definitely prepared me for my job. The accounting classes I took have provcen to be invaluable.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend a background in accounting for my job since I do billing and I also take care of the account receivable part of the office. It’s necessary to have a basic background in this field to be able to balance the billing and the checks received. I would also recommend a background in business management since it has helped me tremendously in any job I’ve had.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The ability to work with others in one of the most important aspects of this job. This means the ability to be able to interact with the employees of the company. Even though they don’t work directly with you all day you still have to have the skills to be able to direct them in the morning. You also need excellent communication skills since a large portion of this job is working with the public mainly through telephone calls. Organization skills are needed also since you are basically “running the show” in the office and everyone else depends on you to be able to locate what they need. Basic clerical skills are also needed and computer skills are must. The ability to work under pressure is needed on some days because on these days things are being thrown at you right and left and you have to be able to handle it.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes basic accounting, people skills and business management courses

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You have to like what you do to be successful at it and have to be confident in what you do. The skills needed for this job can be obtained through education but the best knowledge that you can get in on the job training.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is part opf my career plan because this is what I want to do and will continue to do it as long as I can

What are your current career goals?
To keep this job and to become an irreplacable employee

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing I can think of

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Secretary3 years17000Basic secretarial duties but also did billing.
Prior Job 2Teller2 years15000Processing bank transactions for customers and balancing my cash drawer at the end of each day.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5SZtart TechBusiness/Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.