Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 26) from Houston, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 38
Company Size (not answered)
Location Houston, TX
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small size insurance litigations firm

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Billing assistant, support secretaries, paralegals, and attorneys, maintain machines, IT personnel

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, perscriptions

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like this about my position

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Downtown office; i dislike the commute I love the downtown environment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at work
8am to 9am Contact phone vendor regarding outstanding invoices, enter search engine charges into billing software
9am to 10am Creat new accout payable files, open new files, meet with business manage regarding new computers and new software, meet with business manager regarding office equipment upgrades
10am to 11am Telephone conference with various office equipment vendors regarding cost of upgrades, install new software upgrades.
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Update firm docket report and distribute
1pm to 2pm Check in and route mail, calendar necessary upcoming schedules
2pm to 3pm Begin to prepare list of all closed files for partner.
3pm to 4pm Leave for weekend (I work until 3 on Fridays, and until 5 Monday-Thursday)
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, meeting with business manager, meeting with partners

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what was my experience? what did i have planned for after college.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. the business manager sat with me for a whole week explaining everything

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, how to use office machines, where everything went, how to use software

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. in high school i took a business class and it helped me to adjust in an office environment.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
pass out resume everywhere

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills (deal with outside vendors on a daily basis), detail oriented (generate invoices, process paid invoices), technical skills (I AM the IT department), organizational skills (performs many tasks throughout day)

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient and open to new things. be willing to take on responsibilities on a whim

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I am planning to go to law school

What are your current career goals?
Enter and complete law school

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Administrative Assistant 6 years 12.00/hour; bonuses vary Assist staff, generate and mail out invoices, deal with outside vendors, maintain accounts payable files, maintain and troubleshoot office machines & computers
Prior Job 2 File Room Clerk 3 years 7.00/hour Filing

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9 University of Houston Downtown Social Sciences – BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.