Sales Associate 

(Female, Age 24) from waldorf, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Sales Associate in waldorf, MD. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location waldorf, MD
Years Experience 6 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a sales associate at discount department store.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Stocking shelves, assisting customers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Healh and dental insurance, 2 weeks vacation, sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I love everything

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I don’t have any complaints about working at the discount department store

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 2 interviews. The first one, I was interviewed by a department manager and the second, was from the actual store manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I do not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. at first, there was a lot of information left out, i had to learn a lot on my own

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to learn how to work the different handheld pricing guns and where to place the items

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. Its a simple job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Yes, I would and I have

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Customer service skills are a must. Social skills and tolerance as well.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient. It gets extremely busy

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I would like to open my own store one day

What are your current career goals?
Opening a store

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 NA NA NA NA
Prior Job 2 NA NA NA NA

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.1

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2 Southern Maryland Community College Accounting/associates degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.