Sr. Financial Analyst 

(Female, Age 43) from Walkertown, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Sr. Financial Analyst in Walkertown, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sr. Financial Analyst
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Walkertown, NC
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Polo Ralph Lauren (specifically, in the Menswear division).

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Prepare financial reporting and analysis of fill rate, shipping projections/targets, customer order confirmations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, ST and LT disability, 401(k) matching, paid holidays, sick and personal time, discounts on Polo products

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Checked my email from home. Logged into SysA (inventory management system) and kicked off pre-allocation reports. Drove to the office.
8am to 9am Completed the Daily Flash report for the day and emailed it to an established distro list. Left a voicemail (to an established distro list) noting the highlights of the Flash report (because a lot of people were off Friday, and it is the fiscal month end this weekend). Ran Style Status reports for Spring, Summer, Fall and BSR (Basic Stock Replenishment) seasons.
9am to 10am Responded to a few emails. Caught up on my filing from the week. Set up the Daily Flash reports for Saturday and Sunday, since I would have to do them from home — it’s easier to set the files while at work. Reviewed financial targets and daily routing to determine if any revisions were needed.
10am to 11am Ran Order Fall-Out report for last week from the system and completed my Excel report, matching it up with shipping data from the same time period.
11am to 12pm Went over the training instructions I started yesterday for teaching my backup how to do the Daily Flash report. Added some screen shots and hyperlinks to make it more user-friendly.
12pm to 1pm Lunch (until 1:30)
1pm to 2pm Continued working on training instructions. Made notes to write a version for doing the Daily Flash report from home (since it involves remote login and different ways to access the data that is compiled on the report, as well as remotely accessing network drives which is sometimes tricky depending on the application being used).
2pm to 3pm Phonecall from Customer Service, and another from Supply Chain wanting to review the financial targets for the month. Provided 2nd quarter financial projections for International shipments to a Supervisor who needed that information. Worked on training instructions in-between requests for information.
3pm to 4pm Cleaned up email inbox. Set up out of office message for Monday (holiday). Backed up sent items to my personal folder. Also took care of some personal business.
4pm to 5pm Nothing to do, surfed the internet and responded to personal emails until 4:30, then I went home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm Checked my work email from home. Responded to an email from my manager.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm Checked my work email again from home. No new emails.
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.