Real Estate Realtor/Agent/ Loan Officer (Male, Age 52) in San Diego, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 52 who works as a Real Estate Realtor/Agent/ Loan Officer in San Diego, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Real Estate Realtor/Agent/ Loan Officer
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location San Diego, CA
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Real Estate Broker with 1000 agents nationwide, 100 in San Diego.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Working with clients to find homes to buy and helping to get a loan.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
adequate

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, daily contact with current clients and new. Yes I like this.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am get up, dress, brush, shower shave.
8am to 9am check internet for e-mails and return messages
9am to 10am search MLS for homes and new listings
10am to 11am call lenders and listing agents for status
11am to 12pm walk 1 hour
12pm to 1pm call clients, agents, check for new listings
1pm to 2pm check e-mails, call clients and agents
2pm to 3pm show homes to prospective clients
3pm to 4pm show homes
4pm to 5pm check e-mail and return messages
5pm to 6pm call clients
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
State classes and testing and licensing with background check.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, resume, individual, history.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
General real estate and sales history

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, college classes.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No, no internship in Real Estate.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Wait, the maket is really slow.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized, likes working with emotional clients, patience

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
required by the DRE, yes a BS at least

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to spend money for 6 months before you make any

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, flexibility, lucative

What are your current career goals?
Stay in Real State.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Sales and Loans 9 years 100k Real Estate sales and loans
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 SDSU Public ADmin/Pesonal Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.