Stockbroker (Male, Age 22) in Sacramento, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 22 who works as a Stockbroker in Sacramento, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Stockbroker
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Sacramento, CA
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Scottrade, we have over 300 branch offices and we are becoming bigger by the day. We are a discoutn brokerage here to serve our customers and provide a good atmosphere leaving customers wanting to come back.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Customer service, placing trades, wiring funds

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Dental, Health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like it a lot, gives me the satisfaction of helping other and my co workers as well. We all communicate with each other.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Come into work. Check the fax machine for any wire transfers or check requests.
8am to 9am Take orders from customers. Place trades.
9am to 10am Around this time, we make our calls welcoming customers who opened accounts or customers who had trouble opening accounts to see if they have any questions.
10am to 11am Still continuing with the welcoming calls and placing trades.
11am to 12pm Wire transfers and check requests start to come in as deadline approaches. More trades being taken as stock market closes soon
12pm to 1pm Starts to slow down with the stock market closing. Take lunch and answer any questions over the phone.
1pm to 2pm Looking over the work for tommorrow and what we got done today. Figure out what I have to do tomorrow.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submit resume and then interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 1 interview with the branch manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What were my strengths and weaknesses. What I plan to do after college

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel confident with my finance background

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Series 7 and 63. Broker tests

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it helped me prepare for the stock market and understand the terms

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take the Series 7 and 63. Make sure to get employed within the company first so you’re a step ahead.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Finance or some business background

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it will be for the short term but looking to see if it’ll open other doors

What are your current career goals?
Looking to climb higher than just stockbroker

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would ultimately like to become a chef

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Team member 2 years 8.5 Worked cashier, made smoothies, customer service
Prior Job 2 Volunteer 1 year 0 Volunteer job helped run the gift shop and wheeled around patients

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 Sac State Finance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.