Implementation Manager (Female, Age 45) in Lake Forest, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Implementation Manager in Lake Forest, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleImplementation Manager
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLake Forest, CA
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Software company, 500 employees – we offer many types of software

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide financial implementations which integrate with our main software suite, troubleshoot any issues.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, sick leave of 12 days, PPO health insurance, Silver dental, vision, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, it does and I like it. I like people and I have a nice balance of technical work and meetings.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office with about 25 other employees. It is very open so it can be noisy but that is really the only bad thing.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amBegin the day working on a monthly report for the CFO outlining client income.
9am to 10amOperations Meeting with all department heads, discuss where we are financially, any holdups with implementations.
10am to 11amWork on client files for implementation.
11am to 12pmTrain with one of the technical heads on a new sales report in Access/SQL.
12pm to 1pmTrain with one of the technical heads on a new sales report in Access/SQL.
1pm to 2pmWork on income report.
2pm to 3pmConference call with client, discuss implementation.
3pm to 4pmConference call with another client, discuss status.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, completed online application, had several phone interviews, one in person interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. 2 phone, one in person, interviewed with supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Describe my skillset, how I work with others.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, learning the software and industry.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get an IT and Finance degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
SQL server, MSAccess, MS Excel, Finance experience, software experience, implementation/project manager experience, Accounting, networking, people skills, team player.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, very high levels.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take a lot of notes and ask a lot of questions.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is. I had planned to become employed in this industry.

What are your current career goals?
Work for current company, take more classes, hopefully start a business of my own in the next 4 years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.