Assistant Director Of Career Services 

(Female, Age 24) from Spartanburg, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Assistant Director Of Career Services in Spartanburg, SC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Director Of Career Services
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Spartanburg, SC
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Currently I’m employed by Wofford College. This small, liberal arts school enjoys a student population of 1,450 and a student to faculty ratio of 11:1. Many students attend Wofford with the hope of continuing his or her education even further, be it medical school, law school, divinity school, or graduate school in a variety of fields. Our small campus facilitates a community where every student feels comfortable discussing new thoughts and ideas.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My responsibilities primarily include meeting with students to discuss career possibilities. I help students create a career strategy plan, so he or she takes the classes, interns, and applies in the correct order. I also have an important role in planning events held by the Career Center. I plan career lunches, retreats, the annual graduate and law school day and ou annual talent quest. I also plan and facilitate etiquette, resume, and interview workshops.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation, plus we received paid time off for Christmas (8 working days) and Thanksgiving (2 days). Blue Cross Blue Shield health insurance as well as eye and dental care. We also have an on-campus infirmary that can prescribe medications.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel extremely well-compensated for my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with my colleagues on a daily basis. I enjoy planning projects and events with my coworkers. I also work closely with students, administrators, faculty, parents, and alums. I enjoy working closely with others because it stimulates my mind and leadership characteristics.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am 8:30 arrive at work where I make sure the office is ready for students. I put out the newspapers (NY Times, USA Today, Financial Times, and The Wall Street Journal), I start a pot of coffee, and begin checking my emails and responding if necessary.
9am to 10am From 9-12 I work on projects. I also do most of the workshops (resume, interview skills, etiquette, and networking) during this time. I consider the morning my office time, I don’t see students unless it’s an emergency or I’m doing a workshop.
10am to 11am Most all staff meetings, either with my department or the entire student affairs staff, occur before lunch. These meetings usually occur to explain what everyone within the department is doing at any given time. Each department within student affairs reports. If Career Services, my department, is meeting alone, it’s a time for our staff to come up to date with projects we’re all working on. I normally report on workshops and special speakers that we bring in as a department. I record minutes from each meeting to compile into action items that we then follow-up on at the next meeting. If there isn’t a meeting, I correct resumes and cover letters electronically, update the website, contact speakers, and make arrangements.
11am to 12pm Workshops fall during this period. We offer workshops that last 50 minutes on the topics listed above (9-10am slot). These workshops help prepare the student, giving each one practical skills needed to succeed in an internship, job, or graduate school. The workshop focuses on me speaking and following a powerpoint. Each workshop offers the student the opportunity to work on a skill and then contact one of our staff members for continued help and validation.
12pm to 1pm This is my lunch break. I either stay on campus, and eat in the faculty dining room, or I bring my lunch. If I need to run errands, I grab something through the drive-thru. Occassionally I take students, faculty, or businesses to lunch.
1pm to 2pm After lunch, I begin seeing students. My appointments normally have a specific reason for coming in, including: resumes, interview skills, career planning, or interpretation of the Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). Depending on the student’s level of need these meetings last from 15 minutes to an hour or more.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume electronically, and then I interviewed in person.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I only interviewed once with my immediate supervisor, the director of Career Services. It was a two hour interview where we discussed my thoughts and ideas about changing the current situation of the department.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Describe yourself. List some of your weaknesses and how you’re working to strengthen them. How would you contribute to our team and office as it’s currently structured?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do feel prepared as most of my tasks don’t require any specialized skills. I also work closely with my supervisor and colleagues which allows me to ask questions and request assistance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have done fairly extensive training in customer service, and I had several business internships during college. As for formal training in higher education, I haven’t received any since I began working here.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do. I attended a small liberal arts college where I took classes in everything from public speaking to cell biology. I feel that having a very broad education prepared me for any job. I also held countless leadership and service positions during my college career, and I truly believe the lessons learned will stay with me, and benefit me, for many years to come.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Through my internships, I learned the importance of etiquette. So many people underestimate its importance. I also learned about corporate culture, how to run meetings, time management, and many other important, real-world lessons were learned during my various internships.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would that the student begin looking for job openings in the Career Services department of various schools, based on the geographical area they plan to live. In a broader sense, finding a job in the student affairs department, as a dorm director, greek life coordinator, or any other position, would also be a great way to start. Also, working in the school’s admissions office is a good place to start, this puts you in the hiring pool, as many schools promote from within. Someone intersted in this position should also consider graduate school in higher education, but first, I suggest spending a few years working in the system.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
To find success in a position similiar to mine, a person should possess great people skils. He or she should be energetic and outgoing because you daily work with students and sometimes the student is extremely apathetic. You should also be well-organized and goal oriented. Often, you’ll be responsible for more than your job description describes, so you should be prepared to work hard to meet multiple goals.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I think you should possess a bachelor’s degree, and some customer service training is helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Never get discouraged, I can promise there will be days when you’ll want to, but remember that you’re having a positive impact on someone’s life. Also, lead by example, so if you’re telling your students how to dress and behave, make sure your dress and behavior are in accordance with your teaching.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I hope to continue in college administration until I’m ready to return to graduate school for my PhD.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to eventually return to graduate school to receive my PhD in either genetic research or literature. I would then like to gain tenure at a liberal arts college in my subject of choice. I love to learn, and I enjoy helping others learn even more.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Intern 14 mo.s 38000 I spent the year learning how to run a luxury resort. I worked in every department including: housekeeping, front desk, banquets, conference services, sales, marketing, amenities, spa and golf club.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Wofford College BA and BS (English and Bio)
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.