Assistant Manager/Clerk 

(Female, Age 32) from manchester, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Assistant Manager/Clerk in manchester, TN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Manager/Clerk
Salary $38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location manchester, TN
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a small mom and pop pawn shop in a town where there are already 2 other estabilished pawn shops. We want to help people who feel the other guys arent lookign out for their interests.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist customers in determing loan values, price jewelry, check cashing, and assist customers in making purchases.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does. I love my job. I love the industry and i love helping people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
its a prefab metal building. I like it its very neat and clean!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am get ready for work
8am to 9am arrive at work at 815, disable alarm. open safe, put money in register, put jewelry and guns in show cases, turn on music and tv and lights, open store at 830 wait on cutomers
9am to 10am wait on customers
10am to 11am wait on customers and pull pawns out of back to put out for sale
11am to 12pm wait on customers
12pm to 1pm wait on customers lunch if we arent too busy
1pm to 2pm pull and price jewelry clean it wait on customers
2pm to 3pm wait on customers
3pm to 4pm wait on customers
4pm to 5pm at 5 we close before that wait on customers
5pm to 6pm between 5 an 515 the money must be counted and entered into computer and reports ran jewelry must be put in safe along with guns, turn tv lights and everything els eoff, set alarm on way out the door, lock door go home!
6pm to 7pm cook dinner and clean
7pm to 8pm relax and spend time with my kids
8pm to 9pm get kids ready for bed
9pm to 10pm go to bed myself
10pm to 11pm sleep! ZZZZzzz
11pm to 12am sleeep!

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
unemplyment office and later through a previous co-worker

What was the application process?
a resume a phone call w/e it takes!

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes i just had to meet the owner. I already knew the manager!

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
just how much i liked the industry and what i could bring to a new business

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i do

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes it was apprx. 3 years of learning prices on item and what and how to loan and how to handle different situations.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I lucked up on mine and desperately needed a job when i got into the industry 7 years ago. I simply applied through the unemployment office

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
excellent people skills able to get along and assist a variety of people from ALL and i do mean ALL walks of life fromthe EXTREMELY poor who only have a few figurines to pawn to the VERY rich who want that saw for less than you laoned on it! LOL

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
you have to know alittle about EVERYTHING!!!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be open and VERY honest!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yea i hope to one day own my own pawn shop

What are your current career goals?
own my own pawn shop one day

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 manager 6 years 32000 managed pawn shop and employees
Prior Job 2 cheif processing officer 2 years 22000 processed residential mortgages

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.