Clerk (Female, Age 28) in Matteson, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Clerk in Matteson, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClerk
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMatteson, IL
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a county office dealing with estates.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I file paperwork in court, set courtdates, answer phone calls, etc…

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, sick & personal days, insurance (medical, dental, & vision)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under, but not complaining due to insurance!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I am very happy to work with others. I am very much a people person.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amAnswer phone calls, do petty cash, arrange information to take to court house.
10am to 11amGo to court house, pick up & order letters of office & Vital Statistics.
11am to 12pmSet court dates, visit State’s Atty’s office & deliver paperwork.
12pm to 1pmCome back to office. Continue to answer phone calls. Add court dates to appointment book. File paperwork in individual co-workers folders.
1pm to 2pmLunch Break
2pm to 3pmAnswer phone calls, Misc tasks.
3pm to 4pmPhone Calls and bank run
4pm to 5pmPhone calls and mail (stamp postage on envelopes, then bring down to mailbox). End of Day @ 5 PM!
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, interview, paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Individual interview with my boss.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My qualifications, if I felt I would be happy & successful working for their office.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
100%.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, the previous person doing the clerical work trained me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My degree is in a completely different field from my current job!

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to the county, fill out applications and bring a resume!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good social skills, extremely organized, be computer literate & works well with people of all nationalities.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep a smile on your face and always put in over 100%!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Who knows? It wasn’t originally but may become!

What are your current career goals?
To move up within the department.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacheralmost 2 years500006th grade teacher
Prior Job 2Teacher1 year450007th grade teacher

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Loyola UniversityBachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5University of IllinoisMaster’s of Science

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.