(Female, Age 20) from Rock Island, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 20 who works as a Assistant in Rock Island, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Rock Island, IL
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small Capital Management firm.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Office admin

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Like, enjoy helping the firm. Paycheck is nice.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office: like its location – easy to get too. Clean and friendly, nice atmosphere

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Wake up and prepare for work
8am to 9am Commute to work
9am to 10am See what the tasks are for today
10am to 11am Work on the most urgent task
11am to 12pm Work on the most urgent task
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Work on the most urgent task
2pm to 3pm Work on the most urgent task
3pm to 4pm See if any other work appeared during the day that needs attention
4pm to 5pm See if any other work appeared during the day that needs attention
5pm to 6pm Commute home
6pm to 7pm Dinner
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes it was a one on one interview. Ask about my background and why I wanted the job and what I can contribute

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why I wanted the job and what I can contribute

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, was thrown into the deep end

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training was given

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, skills learn at University helped

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school, look around make connections and apply online. Don’t take be scare of rejections

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Computer skills are essential

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Do well at school, make connections and have a good resume. Look sharp and prepare for interviews.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to work in this field

What are your current career goals?
To make money 🙂

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Manager 2 15000 Manage a daily staff of 5. Reported operations of store. Controlled inventory
Prior Job 2 Assistant 1 10000 Customer service

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8 University Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.