Network Engineer (Male, Age 25) in sterling heights, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Network Engineer in sterling heights, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Network Engineer
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location sterling heights, MI
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Firm has multiple clients in medical field. We provide software solutions as well as hardware for the computer networks

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
server up keep , computer networking, resolve issues clients may have with software/hardware

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dential

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
somewhat

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others all day long, be it my boss or office manager or doctors when I am onsite working. I do like the interaction with others but it does get to me sometimes

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I get a desk at the office and am usually at a desk in a server room thats climate controlled

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am wake up
8am to 9am IP phone setup
9am to 10am IP phone setup
10am to 11am IP phone setup
11am to 12pm IP phone setup
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm server maintance
2pm to 3pm setup dr. office
3pm to 4pm finsh dr. office
4pm to 5pm went home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My girlfriend got me this job, her office is a client at the firm I work for

What was the application process?
submitted resume, got an interview and was hired on the spot

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, It went over the technical skills I posses

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I knew what i was getting into when I was hired

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just schooling, I received a engineering degree

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat, you will never learn in school the actual responsibilities of each firm

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Networking trough people….thats all

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Very computer savvy, have great people skills and most important to be patient with clients

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Listen to customers needs before you try to sell them something

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I always wanted to work in IT

What are your current career goals?
Make money, get married, and be successful in life

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 stock clerk 9 years 19000 stock clerk
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.o lawrence technological university engineering technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.