Back Office Of The Broker Dealer Intern 

(Female, Age 24) from Miami, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Back Office Of The Broker Dealer Intern in Miami, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Back Office Of The Broker Dealer Intern
Salary $24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Miami, NY
Years Experience 6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small international bank that has services in Private Banking, Trading, Credit, and Real Estate. Most of our clients are from Latin America or Europe.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I create bar codes in order to scan and index new files and documents into the companies internal server. I research security prospectuses and mail them to corresponding clients as well as post them on the internal server. I help prepare and update procedures, reconciliations, customer statements, and the compliance manual for audits. I tended to daily back office activity such as tax adjustments/reversals and dividend rate adjustments.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none as an intern

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, except when I am given tasks that are not part of my job description.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I like working in the financial district of a big city because it is full of young people and its a motivating environment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am Get in. Print reports for the different departments in the bank
10am to 11am Hand out trade confirmations to the private bankers. Match trade tickets.
11am to 12pm Confirm settlement instructions on trades.
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm leave at 4
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my friend works there

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I was asked what my goals were and if I was willing to learn.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. Sometimes I am expected to know how to do something in a different way than which I was shown.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was just shown how to do certain tasks from the people who usually do them.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
It is my job

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Ask people you know. Its all about connections. Or go through the career center at your school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
An interest in the financial market. A desire to learn other languages.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not for what I am doing, but you need a college degree to get the job

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you like working with numbers and enjoy the financial industry.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. It is not in my nature to work in this industry. I am more of a creative person that enjoys reading and writing- not looking at numbers.

What are your current career goals?
I want to work for an international government organization such as the European Commission, own my own business, and write.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Intern/Temp 6 months 24000 Daily tasks at the back office of the broker dealer.
Prior Job 2 The french goverent one year

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 University of Miami Bachelor of Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.