Medical Assistant (Male, Age 26) in Wilsonville, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Medical Assistant in Wilsonville, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assistant
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week26
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWilsonville, OR
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an allergy, asthma and immunology specialist’s office

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I intake patients, take vital signs, process prescription refills, administer injections

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
fully paid medical insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ammeeting started at 7:45 am. Discussed shortcomings of staff, areas of needed improvement. Meeting ends at 8.
8am to 9amPrepared office for first patients of the day. Calibrated all testing machinery, recorded in log books all activities done, prepared patients’ charts, stocked exam rooms and injection room. First patient arrived at 8:45. Brought him back and checked his vital signs, charted them in his chart. Performed a lung funtion test. Immunotherapy (allergy shots) patient showed up. I looked up their record to see what dose they needed next and administered their shot.
9am to 10amAfter first patient left, cleaned the exam room. Filed all the charts from previous day back onto shelves. Checked voicemail and returned phone calls from patients. Second and third patients of the day showed up. Took both patients to their rooms, charted their vital signs and cleaned rooms when they left. Over the course of the hour 3 more allergy shot patients showed up and I gave them their shots.
10am to 11amCalled various labs to get bloodwork and cat scan results on patients. Made appropriate chart notes. Called a pharmacy to authorize a refill for a medication for a patient. I gave 2 more allergy shot patients their shots.
11am to 12pmChecked in another patient for an exam. Performed skin testing for allergies and a lung function test. Did patient education on inhalers, nasal irriagation and allergy shots. Gave two more patients their allergy shots
12pm to 1pmCleaned all exam rooms to prepare for afternoon patients. Filed all charts that had been worked on and cleaned up my work station. Clocked out and left at 1pm/
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.