PCC/CNA (Female, Age 27) in Kittery, ME

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a PCC/CNA in Kittery, ME. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePCC/CNA
Salary$13,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
LocationKittery, ME
Years Experience6 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Arcadia Healthcare…they employee in home health care employees…it’s a large organization.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a pcc I work in home with a disable terminally ill man…I help with errands,grocery shopping,medical appointments,medication dispentions,I bath him…do housecleaning….laundry…schedule doctor’s appointments…etc. Help him meet all his needs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
n/a

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does….I dislike it. Many times I will try and fill his prescriptions etc..and I get a hassle they never have what he needs etc….also the man I care for is very hard to get along with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home….I enjoy it because it’s not a long travel and it is more laid back enviroment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
like a 30 page test and a 20 page paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. 2 interviews individual with an Arcadia Office Manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What training I recieved….Whether or not I could perform the duties necessary for my job description bending,stooping heavy lifting etc…whether or not someone would say that I am dependable

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No…I took the course through and adult education program.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It teaches you all the things you need to know about being a CNA

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take a cna course…and apply at all the homehealth agencies in the area.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills. You have to deal with clients and some are difficult to deal with.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take a CNA course…also this is a more difficult job then one would think you have to really enjoy helping people…and a lot of times you get close to someone and they pass away and that’s hard!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No…I donot really enjoy my job…I want to have something that I LOVE doing.

What are your current career goals?
Go to school again for right now I am really unsure what I want to do…so I guess I have to figure that part out

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier3 monthsn/aI was a cashier at a local gas stations..
Prior Job 2Laundry Attendant6 mon/aI had to clean,answerphones,do wash/dry/and folds….customer service…we also had a tanning salon in our laundry mat I had to attend a 6 hour class for and complete testing on

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:?

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
?York Adult EdCertified Nurses Aide
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.